Comeback by James Button

Ngaio Marsh Award 2014 shortlist announced

The shortlist for the 2014 Ngaio Marsh Award for Best Crime Novel has been announced.

The shortlisted titles are:

  • Joe Victim (Paul Cleave, Atria)
  • Frederick’s Coat (Alan Duff, Random House NZ)
  • My Brothers Keeper (Donna Malane, HarperCollins NZ)
  • Where the Dead Men Go (Liam McIlvanney, Faber).


This winner, who will receive a set of Ngaio Marsh Award novels courtesy of HarperCollins and a cash prize of $1000 from the Christchurch Writers Festival Trust, will be announced at a ceremony on 30 August at the WORD Christchurch Writers & Readers Festival.

The Ngaio Marsh Award, named for Christchurch mystery writer and theatre director Dame Ngaio Marsh, was established in 2010 and is awarded annually for the best crime, mystery or thriller novel written by a New Zealand citizen or resident.

View the longlist here.


Category: Free, Local news