Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Australian, NZ authors on IMPAC Dublin 2013 longlist

A number of books by Australian and New Zealand authors have been longlisted for the 2013 International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award.

Books by Australian authors on the longlist are:

  • What the Family Needed (Steven Amsterdam, Sleepers)
  • Estuary (Sam Bunny, Bay Owl Press)
  • Spirit of Progress (Steven Carroll, Fourth Estate)
  • All That I Am (Anna Funder, Penguin)
  • Sarah Thornhill (Kate Grenville, Text)
  • Five Bells (Gail Jones, Vintage)
  • Foal’s Bread (Gillian Mears, A&U)
  • Autumn Laing (Alex Miller, A&U)
  • Cold Light (Frank Moorhouse, Vintage)
  • Past the Shallows (Favel Parrett, Hachette)
  • The Street Sweeper (Elliot Perlman, Vintage).


Books by New Zealand authors on the longlist are:

  • Wulf (Hamish Clayton, Penguin NZ)
  • The Larnachs (Owen Marshall, Random House NZ)
  • Rangatira (Paula Morris, Penguin NZ)
  • The Conductor (Sarah Quigley, Random House NZ).


The shortlist for the 2013 award will be announced on 9 April and the winner will be announced on 6 June.

A total of 154 authors were nominated for the 2013 award by library systems in major cities throughout the world. The complete longlist is available online here.

The International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award is worth €100,000 (approximately A$121,973), making it the most valuable prize for a novel published in English. As previously reported by Bookseller+Publisher, Rocks in the Belly by Australian author Jon Bauer (Scribe) was one of 10 books shortlisted for the 2012 award, which was awarded to British author Jon McGregor for Even the Dogs (Bloomsbury) in June.



Category: Local news