Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Stedman, Tiffany, Perkins longlisted for 2013 Women’s Prize for Fiction

Australian authors M L Stedman and Carrie Tiffany and New Zealand author Emily Perkins have been longlisted for this year’s Women’s Prize for Fiction in the UK.

The longlist for the award, which was previously known as the Orange Prize for Fiction, was announced in London on 13 March. Stedman has been nominated for The Light between Oceans (Vintage), Tiffany for Mateship with Birds (Picador) and Perkins for The Forrests (Bloomsbury).

The other longlisted titles are:

  • A Trick I Learned from a Dead Man (Kitty Aldridge Jonathan Cape)
  • Life after Life (Kate Atkinson, Doubleday)
  • The Marlowe Papers (Ros Barber, Sceptre)
  • The People of Forever are Not Afriad (Shani Boianjiu, Hogarth Press)
  • Gone Girl (Gillian Flynn, Orion)
  • How Should a Person Be? (Sheila Heti, Harvill Secker)
  • May We Be Forgiven (A M Holmes, Granta Books)
  • Flight Behaviour (Barbara Kingsolver, Faber)
  • The Red Book (Deborah Copaken Kogan, Virago Press)
  • Bring Up the Bodies (Hilary Mantel, Fourth Estate)
  • Lamb (Bonnie Nadzam, Hutchinson)
  • Ignorance (Michèle Roberts, Bloomsbury)
  • The Innocents (Francesca Segal, Chatto & Windus)
  • Where’d You Go, Bernadette (Maria Semple, Phoenix)
  • Honour (Elif Shafak, Viking)
  • NW (Zadie Smith, Hamish Hamilton)
  • Alif the Unseen (G Willow Wilson, A&U).


The judges of this year’s prize will announce the shortlist at the London Book Fair on 16 April, ahead of the winner’s announcement on 5 June. This year’s winner will receive a cash prize of £30,000 (A$43,355).

The Women’s Prize for Fiction was established in 1996 to celebrate and promote fiction written by women. The prize is awarded annually to a novel written in English by a women. This year’s prize has been privately funded by individual donors after mobile phone company Orange announced in 2012 that it was ending its sponsorship of the prize. A new sponsor for the prize is expected to be announced in 2014.

For more information about the prize, click here.



Category: Local news