Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

2012 WA Premier’s Book Awards shortlists announced

The shortlists for the 2012 Western Australian Premier’s Book Awards have been announced.

The shortlisted titles in each of the categories are:

Fiction ($15,000) and nominees for the People’s Choice Award ($5000)

  • The Voyage (Murray Bail, Text)
  • The Conversation (David Brooks, UQP)
  • Questions of Travel (Michelle de Kretser, A&U)
  • The Meaning of Grace (Deborah Forster, Vintage)
  • The Mountain (Drusilla Modjeska, Vintage)
  • Mateship with Birds (Carrie Tiffany, Picador)


Nonfiction ($15,000)

  • Montebello (Robert Drewe, Hamish Hamilton)
  • The Mind of a Thief (Patti Miller, UQP)
  • Earth Wars: The Battle for Global Resources (Geoff Hiscock, Wiley)
  • Mr J W Lewin: Painter and Naturalist (Richard Neville, NewSouth)
  • Exile: The Lives and Hopes of Werner Pelz (Roger Averill, Transit Lounge)
  • Sandakan (Paul Ham, William Heinemann)


Children’s Literature ($15,000)

  • Australian Backyard Naturalist (Peter Macinnis, NLA)
  • Pookie Aleera is Not My Boyfriend (Steven Herrick, UQP)
  • Sophie Scott Goes South (Alison Lester, Viking)
  • The Coat (Julie Hunt, illus by Ron Brooks, A&U)
  • The Terrible Suitcase (Emma Allen, illus by Freya Blackwood, Omnibus)
  • Tanglewood (Margaret Wild, illus by Vivienne Goodman, Omnibus)


Young Adult ($10,000)

  • A Corner of White (Jaclyn Moriarty, Macmillan)
  • Friday Brown (Vikki Wakefield, Text)
  • Sea Hearts (Margo Lanagan, A&U)
  • Fox a Dox (Bruce Pascoe, Magabala Books)
  • Night Beach (Kirsty Eagar, Penguin)
  • The Ink Bridge (Neil Grant, A&U)


Poetry ($10,000)

  • Certain Fathoms (Bonny Cassidy, Puncher & Wattman)
  • Asymmetry (Aidan Coleman, Brandl & Schlesinger)
  • Cumulus (Robert Gray, John Leonard Press)
  • Darger: His Girls (Julie Chevalier, Puncher & Wattmann)
  • Collusion (Brook Emery, John Leonard Press)
  • Crimson Crop (Peter Rose, UWA Publishing)


State Library of Western Australia WA History Award ($10,000)

  • Kurlumarniny: We Come from the Desert (Monty Hale (Minyjun), Aboriginal Studies Press)
  • Shipwrecks of Australia’s West Coast (ed by Michael McCarthy, Western Australian Museum)
  • Guy Grey-Smith: Life Force (Andrew Gaynor, UWA Publishing)
  • True North (Brenda Niall, Text)
  • 110° in the Waterbag (ed by Lenore Layman & Criena Fitzgerald, Western Australian Museum)
  • Voices from the West End (ed by Paul Longley Arthur & Geoffrey Bolton, Western Australian Museum)


Scripts ($10,000)

  • Mabo (Sue Smith, Blackfella Films)
  • Happy Ending (Melissa Reeves, Melbourne Theatre Company)
  • Fearless (Mirra Todd, Currency Press)
  • The Fremantle Candidate (Ingle Knight, Prickly Pear Playscripts)
  • Medea (Kate Mulvany & Anne-Louise Sarks, Belvoir Street Theatre)
  • Barassi (Tee O’Neill, Currency Press)


Digital narrative ($5000)

  • My Planets: Reunion Memoir (David P Reiter, Interactive Publications)
  • The Box that Changed Bea’s Life (Lana Young).


The winners of this year’s awards will be announced on 16 September. The Premier’s Prize, worth $25,000, will be presented to the best overall entry from all category winners. Voting for the People’s Choice Award has also opened.

For more information about the WA Premier’s Book Awards, visit the State Library of Western Australia website here. To see a list of last year’s winners, click here.



Category: Local news