Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Flanagan, Kent shortlisted for 2015 IMPAC Dublin Award

Richard Flanagan’s The Narrow Road to the Deep North (Vintage) and Hannah Kent’s Burial Rites (Picador) have been shortlisted for the 2015 International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award.

Ten books in total have been shortlisted for the award. The full shortlist is:

  • Americanah (Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Fourth Estate)
  • Horses of God (Mahi Binebine, Tin House)
  • Harvest (Jim Crace, Picador)
  • The Narrow Road to the Deep North (Richard Flanagan, Vintage)
  • Burial Rites (Hannah Kent, Picador)
  • K (Bernardo Kucinski, Latin American Bureau)
  • Brief Loves That Live Forever (Andreï Makine, MacLehose Press)
  • TransAtlantic (Colum McCann, Bloomsbury)
  • Someone (Alice McDermott, Farrar, Straus & Giroux)
  • Sparta (Roxana Robinson).


The International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award is presented annually for a novel written in English or translated into English. As previously reported by Books+Publishing, 10 books by Australian authors and four books by New Zealand authors were longlisted for this year’s prize, which is worth €100,000 (approximately A$144,415). The winner of the award will be announced on 17 June.

For more information about the shortlisted books, visit the website here.



Category: Local news