Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Brooks, Barrett longlisted for Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction

Australian authors Geraldine Brooks and Shirley Barrett have been longlisted for the 2016 Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction.

Brooks is longlisted for her novel The Secret Chord (Hachette) and Barrett for her debut novel Rush Oh! (Picador).

The full longlist is:

  • A God in Ruins (Kate Atkinson, Black Swan)
  • Rush Oh! (Shirley Barrett, Picador)
  • Ruby (Cynthia Bond, Hodder & Stoughton)
  • The Secret Chord (Geraldine Brooks, Hachette)
  • The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet (Becky Chambers, Hodder & Stoughton)
  • A Dictionary of Mutual Understanding (Jackie Copleton, Hutchinson)
  • Whispers through a Megaphone (Rachel Elliott, Viking)
  • The Green Road (Anne Enright, Random House
  • The Book of Memory (Petina Gappah, Faber)
  • Gorsky (Vesna Goldsworthy, Vintage)
  • The Anatomist’s Dream (Clio Gray, Myrmidon Books)
  • At Hawthorn Time (Melissa Harrison, Bloomsbury)
  • Pleasantville (Attica Locke, Serpent’s Tail)
  • The Glorious Heresies (Lisa McInerney, Hodder & Stoughton)
  • The Portable Veblen (Elizabeth McKenzie, Fourth Estate)
  • Girl at War (Sara Nović, Orbit)
  • The House at the Edge of the World (Julia Rochester, Penguin)
  • The Improbability of Love (Hannah Rothschild, Bloomsbury)
  • My Name is Lucy Barton (Elizabeth Strout, Viking)
  • A Little Life (Hanya Yanagihara, Picador).

Seven nationalities are represented on this year’s longlist, including the first Zimbabwean author to be longlisted for the prize, Petina Gappah. Eleven of the 20 longlisted novels are debuts.

A shortlist of six will be announced on 11 April ahead of the winner’s announcement on 8 June.

The £30,000 (A$57,520) prize was established in 1996 and is presented annually to the best novel of the year written in English by a woman.

For more information about the prize, click here.



Category: Local news