Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Oz, NZ writers shortlisted for 2016 Commonwealth Short Story Prize

A number of Australian and New Zealand writers have been shortlisted for the 2016 Commonwealth Short Story Prize.

They are:

  • ‘Black Milk’ (Tina Makereti, New Zealand)
  • ‘Charmed’ (Jane Downing, Australia)
  • ‘This Here Land’ (Miranda Luby, Australia)
  • ‘Where Mountains Weep’ (Bonnie Etherington, New Zealand).

The Commonwealth Short Story Prize is awarded for the best piece of unpublished short fiction between 2000 and 5000 words. The prize covers the Commonwealth regions of Africa; Asia; Canada and Europe; Caribbean; and Pacific. To see the full shortlists, click here.

The regional winners will be announced on 4 May and will receive £2500 (A$4869) each. The overall winner, announced in September, will receive £5000 (A$9738).

As previously reported by Books+Publishing, Commonwealth Writers announced in 2013 that it would no longer offer the Commonwealth Book Prize, and would instead focus its efforts on the Short Story Prize. For more information, visit the website here.



Category: Local news