Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Four Australians shortlisted for the Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2017

Four Australians are among the 21 writers shortlisted for the Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2017.

The shortlisted Australian writers and their works are:

  • Ruth Lacey, for ‘Gauloises Blue’
  • Chloe Wilson, for ‘Harbour’
  • Myfanwy McDonald, for ‘Numb’
  • Nat Newman, for ‘The Death of Margaret Roe’.

The Commonwealth Short Story Prize is awarded for the best piece of unpublished short fiction between 2000 and 5000 words. The prize covers the Commonwealth regions of Africa; Asia; Canada and Europe; the Caribbean; and Pacific. To see the full shortlist, click here.

The regional winners will will receive £2500 (A$4110) each. The overall winner, announced in September, will receive £5000 (A$8215).

As previously reported by Books+Publishing, Commonwealth Writers announced in 2013 that it would no longer offer the Commonwealth Book Prize, and would instead focus its efforts on the Short Story Prize.


Category: Local news