Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Viskic, Clark shortlisted for UK Dagger awards

Australian authors Emma Viskic and Sherryl Clark have been shortlisted for the UK Crime Writers’ Association (CWA) 2018 Dagger awards.

Viskic’s Resurrection Bay (Echo) has been shortlisted in two categories: the Gold Dagger award for best crime novel of the year and the John Creasey New Blood Dagger for the best crime novel by a first-time author.

Viskic’s novel is one of six shortlisted titles in the John Creasey New Blood category, and also one of six shortlisted for the Gold Dagger award. The other titles shortlisted for the Gold Dagger award are:

  • The Liar (Steven Cavanagh, Orion)
  • London Rules (Mick Herron, Jonh Murray)
  • Since We Fell (Dennis Lehane, Little, Brown)
  • Bluebird, Bluebird (Attica Locke, Serpent’s Tail)
  • A Necessary Evil (Abir Mukherjee, Harvill Secker).

Clark was shortlisted for the Debut Dagger award for her unpublished manuscript ‘Trust Me, I’m Dead’, alongside four other manuscripts.

Shortlists were also announced in several other categories, including the Ian Fleming Steel Dagger for best thriller, the International Dagger for books translated into English, the Gold Dagger for Nonfiction and more.

As previously reported by Books+Publishing, Viskic and Clark were announced on the longlists in May.

Winners will be announced in London on 25 October.

For more information, visit the CWA website.



Category: Awards Local news