Book Buzz
Image. Advertisement:
Book Buzz is a promotional newsletter supported by the publishers.

 

From the New York Times bestselling author of Evermore and Everless (13,305 Bookscan sales).

A breathtaking new fantasy series, perfect for fans of Lynette Noni, Melissa Albert and Holly Black.

 

About the book

Maddie loves spending summers at her uncle’s Inn at Havenfall. But there is more to this old country manor than meets the eye.

For generations, the inn has served as a neutral territory linking magical realms. Generations of Maddie’s family have guarded the gateways to these hidden worlds.

But this summer everything will change.

A dead body is found at Havenfall, shattering the peace between the worlds. Maddie’s uncle falls ill, leaving her no choice but to take over the inn and try to broker peace between the realms.

In this twisty, transfixing new series, Maddie will be forced to confront dark truths about herself and her family.

 

Sample chapter

Read an extract of Havenfall here.

 

From the author

‘My whole life, I’ve obsessed over contemporary fantasy books that made me believe magic could be just around the next corner. So it’s a dream come true to find a publishing home for my first novel set in this world. I couldn’t be more thrilled that the Bloomsbury team fell in love with the setting of Havenfall and with Maddie—a tough, resilient girl who fights to preserve the magic around her even as she starts to understand its dark side. This story means a lot to me, and I can’t wait to share it with readers everywhere.’Sara Holland

 

About the author

Sara Holland is the author of the New York Times bestsellers Everless and Evermore. She grew up in small-town Minnesota, but also in the countless fictional worlds of books. She graduated from Wesleyan University and worked in a tea shop, a dentist’s office, and a state capitol building before heading to New York to work in publishing. These days, she can be found exploring the city’s bookstores or finding new ways to put caffeine in her bloodstream.

www.sarahollandwrites.com
@Sara__Holland

 

Watch a message from the author

 

Advance praise

Havenfall is contemporary fantasy at its finest, a smart, poignant rumination on home and family with a supernatural twist. Holland’s seamless blending of reality and fantasy will leave you checking your closet doors for secret passages to other worlds, hoping to find a magical adventure of your own.’—Christine Lynn Herman, author of The Devouring Gray

 

Advance praise from US booksellers

Havenfall is everything you’re hoping to find when you open a book. The world is compelling, the characters are complex, and I can’t wait to “check in” to the next installment of Havenfall.’—Ava Tusek, Second Star to the Right Books 

Havenfall is a clever blend of science fiction and fantasy. Sara Holland gives us a delightfully twisty plot with a diverse group of characters in a fantastic world full of intrigue.’—Michele Bellah, Copperfield’s Books

‘There is action, romance, heartache and mystery. I had a lot of fun reading this, and know that there are readers out there who will gobble this up, and ask for more!’—Julie Poling, Red Balloon Books

‘I loved the book. The characters, different races, worlds and cultures seemed very real and elegant. Now I have to wait forever for the sequel!’—Holly Alexander, Bookie’s Bookstores 

‘As predicted this book was right up my alley. I want to go to Havenfall. I was immediately captivated by the world Sara Holland created where magical delegates from the realms exist side by side with us humans in this special location set aside for trade and negotiations. Maddie is young and inexperienced but she grows into her unexpected role of innkeeper with grace. I appreciated the fact that Maddie isn’t perfect, it makes me love her even more and I think will make her accessible to YA readers. Sara Holland was spot on with the conflicting romantic feelings between Maddie & Brekken and Maddie & Taya, my teenage self feels seen. Girls? Boys? What even are feelings? I can’t wait to read more in this series.’—Rayna Nielsen, Garden District Bookshop

‘For fans of The Light Between Worlds and Seanan McGuire’s Wayward Children series, Havenfall looks at what it’s like not to be a traveler between worlds, but to be responsible for all those who are. Centering on the keeper of an inn that offers a neutral ground to denizens of other universes, you’ll find a story filled with political intrigue, family secrets, steamy romance, heart-wrenching betrayal and more than a little magic. A satisfying story in its own right, Havenfall will leave readers aching for more of Byrn, Fiordenkill, Solaria, and that mystical world in-between.’—Sarah Holt, Left Bank Books

‘Maddie isn’t like most kids her age, having witnessed her brothers’ brutal murder by a Solarian, a savage being from another realm that can shapeshift. Her mother was found guilty of her brother’s murder and is currently on death row. So when she gets the opportunity to spend another summer with her uncle at Havenfall, an inn that forms the nexus between realms, she leaps at the chance to escape the tragedy around her and feel a sense of community again. Maddie is quickly thrust into the role of innkeeper when the Solarian gate that has been sealed for centuries is torn open one night and a Solarian escapes, wreaking havoc in its wake! Maddie is forced to confront her own bias and question everything she knows in order to save her sanctuary. I found this book very timely, with its themes of extending helping hands to those who seek refuge.’—Jessica, White Birch Books.

 

Advance copy giveaway

Be one of the first to read Havenfall. Email sonia.palmisano@bloomsbury.com with ‘Havenfall’ in the subject line for the chance to receive one of five reading copies.

 

 

 

Contact us

Subscriptions
subscriptions@booksandpublishing.com.au

Editorial
Managing editor
Sarah Farquharson
sarah@booksandpublishing.com.au

Editor
Kelsey Oldham
kelsey@booksandpublishing.com.au

Digital editor
Brad Jefferies
brad@booksandpublishing.com.au

Production
Production manager
Andrew Wrathall
andrew@booksandpublishing.com.au

Classifieds, jobs and notices
submit.booksandpublishing.com.au
classifieds@booksandpublishing.com.au

Display advertising
Advertising sales manager
advertising@booksandpublishing.com.au

Select newsletters

Select which newsletters you’d like to receive here.
Unsubscribe from individual newsletters here.
Or unsubscribe from all newsletters here.

View articles

Purchase a subscription to Books+Publishing to view all articles on the website.

If you need help with your subscription, please email the Subscriptions team.

Share