Book Buzz
Image. Advertisement: You want to believe your husband. She wants to destroy him.
Book Buzz is a promotional newsletter supported by the publisher.

About the book | About the author | Advance praise | Sample chapter | Reading copy giveaway

Part courtroom drama; part portrait of a marriage; part exploration of the extent to which our demons still haunt us, Anatomy of a Scandal is a disarming and provocative psychological thriller. At the heart of the story Sarah Vaughan skillfully probes the dilemmas that women face when their lives are touched by crime, or other forms of darkness.

This is the novel everyone will be talking about!

 

Anatomy of a Scandal

About the book

You want to believe your husband. She wants to destroy him.

Gripping psychological drama for fans of The Good Wife and Notes on a Scandal.

Sophie’s husband James is a loving father, a handsome man, a charismatic and successful public figure. And yet he stands accused of a terrible crime. Sophie is convinced he is innocent and desperate to protect her precious family from the lies that threaten to rip them apart.

Kate is the lawyer hired to prosecute the case: an experienced professional who knows that the law is all about winning the argument. She is certain James is guilty and is determined he will pay for his crimes.

Who is right about James? Sophie or Kate? And is either of them informed by anything more than instinct and personal experience? Despite her privileged upbringing, Sophie is well aware that her beautiful life is not inviolable. She has known it since she and James were first lovers, at Oxford, and she witnessed how easily pleasure could tip into tragedy.

A scandal that will rock Westminster and the women caught at the heart of it.

Anatomy of a Scandal
Publication: January 2018
Category: General fiction
Format: Trade paperback
ISBN: 9781471165009
RRP: $29.99

 

Sarah Vaughan

About the author

Sarah Vaughan worked for the Guardian for 11 years as a news reporter, health correspondent and political correspondent. She started writing fiction after deciding to freelance. Sarah is an author of The Art of Baking Blind (translated into eight languages) and recently published The Farm at the Edge of the World. She lives in Cambridge with her husband and two young children.

 

Advance praise

‘A compelling and cautionary story about how we can never truly know someone else; how even after twelve years of marriage, a wife might not know everything about her husband. Brilliant, shocking, and gripping, once I started, I couldn’t stop reading’Claire Fuller, bestselling author of Our Endless Numbered Days

‘That rare book that combines great writing, spot-on characterisation and a compulsive, page-turning narrative. I read it in one breathless day. Set against a fascinating backdrop of the Houses of Parliament, the Old Bailey and Oxford University, think House of Cards meets The Secret History. Meticulously researched, this is an outstanding read’Fiona Cummins, author of Rattle

‘A whip-smart, grown-up thriller with a hugely relevant moral question at its core’Tammy Cohen, author of When She Was Bad

‘Sarah Vaughan has achieved that rare alchemy; a strong plot combined with complex characters and brilliant writing. Anatomy of a Scandal is thrilling. I came away feeling that I had read something extraordinarily good’Emma Curtis, author of One Little Mistake

 

Sample chapter

Read the opening chapter of Anatomy of a Scandal here.

 

Reading copy giveaway

Be one of the first to read Anatomy of a Scandal. Email pr@simonandschuster.com.au with ‘Anatomy of a Scandal’ in the subject line for your chance to win one of five proof copies.

 

 

 

Contact us

Subscriptions
subscriptions@booksandpublishing.com.au

Editorial
Editor-in-chief
Andrew Wrathall
andrew@booksandpublishing.com.au

News editor
Sarah Farquharson
sarah@booksandpublishing.com.au

Assistant editor
Kelsey Oldham
kelsey@booksandpublishing.com.au

Classifieds, jobs and notices
submit.booksandpublishing.com.au
classifieds@booksandpublishing.com.au

Display advertising
Advertising sales manager
advertising@booksandpublishing.com.au

Select newsletters

Select which newsletters you’d like to receive here.
Unsubscribe from individual newsletters here.
Or unsubscribe from all newsletters here.

View articles

Purchase a subscription to Books+Publishing to view all articles on the website.

If you need help with your subscription, please email the Subscriptions team.

Share