Book Buzz
Book Buzz is a promotional newsletter supported by the publisher.

About the book | About the author | Interview with the author | Sample chapter | Reading copy giveaway 

Call Me Evie is a tense literary suspense novel from J. P. Pomare—an exciting new voice in Australian fiction.

‘One of the most striking debuts I’ve read in years and years.’—A.J. Finn, author of The Woman in the Window

Hachette Australia will be igniting reader interest with a multi-platform marketing campaign and an extensive, high-profile author tour.

 

About the book About the book

DON’T TRUST HIM. IT WASN’T ME. IT COULDN’T HAVE BEEN ME.

Meet Evie, a young woman held captive by a man named Jim in the isolated New Zealand beach town of Maketu. Jim says he’s hiding Evie to protect her and that she did something terrible back home in Melbourne. 

In a house that creaks against the wind, Evie begins to piece together her fractured memories of the events that led her here.

Jim says he’s keeping her safe. Evie’s not sure she can trust Jim, but can she trust her own memories?

 

About the author About the author

J.P. Pomare is an award-winning writer who has had work published in journals including Meanjin, Kill Your Darlings, Takahe and Mascara Literary Review. He has hosted the On Writing podcast since 2015 featuring bestselling authors from around the globe.

He was born in New Zealand and resides in Melbourne with his wife. Call Me Evie is his first novel.

 

 

Interview with the author

Read an interview between J.P. Pomare and his publisher Robert Watkins here.

 

Sample chapter

Download an extract of Call Me Evie here.

 

Reading copy giveaway

For your chance to receive one of five copies of Call Me Evie, email marketing@hachette.com.au, with ‘Call Me Evie B+P Giveaway’ in the subject line. The first five people to respond will win a copy. 

 

 

 

Contact us

Subscriptions
subscriptions@booksandpublishing.com.au

Editorial
Managing editor
Sarah Farquharson
sarah@booksandpublishing.com.au

Editor
Kelsey Oldham
kelsey@booksandpublishing.com.au

Digital editor
Brad Jefferies
brad@booksandpublishing.com.au

Production
Production manager
Andrew Wrathall
andrew@booksandpublishing.com.au

Classifieds, jobs and notices
submit.booksandpublishing.com.au
classifieds@booksandpublishing.com.au

Display advertising
Advertising sales manager
advertising@booksandpublishing.com.au

Select newsletters

Select which newsletters you’d like to receive here.
Unsubscribe from individual newsletters here.
Or unsubscribe from all newsletters here.

View articles

Purchase a subscription to Books+Publishing to view all articles on the website.

If you need help with your subscription, please email the Subscriptions team.

Share