Book Buzz
Image. Advertisement:
Book Buzz is a promotional newsletter supported by the publishers.

 

The first children’s book by the New York Times bestselling author of The Magicians, Lev Grossman

 

About the book

A timeless children’s adventure aboard a magical steam train. Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl, Hayao Miyazaki, The Chronicles of Narnia and FernGully.

Kate wasn’t expecting much when she wrote to her wealthy estranged uncle to ask for a birthday present. Certainly she wasn’t expecting a colossal steam train called the Silver Arrow to arrive on her doorstep.
Despite parental misgivings, curiosity overwhelms Kate and her brother Tom and they climb aboard, only for the train’s engine to roar into life. Soon they reach a train station where an assortment of strange and beautiful creatures are waiting with tickets in their mouths, and Kate and Tom begin to understand that their job will be to see them safely home – if they can.

Lev Grossman’s first children’s book is a journey you’ll never forget: a rip-roaring adventure from desert plains to snow-covered mountains and everything in between. Packed with exciting creatures from the indignant porcupine to the lost polar bear and the adorable baby pangolin, The Silver Arrow is a classic story about saving our endangered animals and the places they live.

Read a sample chapter here

 

About the author

Lev Grossman is the bestselling author of the critically acclaimed Magicians trilogy, which has also become a successful TV series. Previously an award-winning journalist who interviewed the likes of Neil Gaiman and J.K. Rowling, The Silver Arrow is his first foray into the world of children’s literature. He lives in New York City with his Australian wife and three children.

 

A quote from the author

“I have three kids of my own, so I’ve spent the past 10 years reading middle-grade books aloud nonstop.

Their favourites are those smart, funny, classic novels like Dahl or Lewis or Blyton or Edward Eager, that welcome you in but also challenge you and don’t talk down to you.

But there’s only so many of them — one of the reasons I wrote this book is that we’d run out of Dahl!”

 

Listen to a message from Lev Grossman

 

Why we love The Silver Arrow by Lev Grossman

 

Advance reading copy giveaway

For your chance to win an advance reading copy, be one of the first to email Bloomsbury with ‘SILVER ARROW’ in the subject line. Please note we can only deliver to Australian addresses.

 

 

 

Contact us

Subscriptions
subscriptions@booksandpublishing.com.au

Editorial
Editor
Kelsey Oldham
kelsey@booksandpublishing.com.au

Digital editor
Brad Jefferies
brad@booksandpublishing.com.au

Acting editor, Daily
Matthia Dempsey
matthia@booksandpublishing.com.au

Classifieds, jobs and notices
submit.booksandpublishing.com.au
classifieds@booksandpublishing.com.au

Display advertising
Advertising sales manager
advertising@booksandpublishing.com.au

Select newsletters

Select which newsletters you’d like to receive here.
Unsubscribe from individual newsletters here.
Or unsubscribe from all newsletters here.

View articles

Purchase a subscription to Books+Publishing to view all articles on the website.

If you need help with your subscription, please email the Subscriptions team.

Share