Book Buzz
Image. Advertisement:
Book Buzz is a promotional newsletter supported by the publishers.

 

From the bestselling author of Fled comes a moving tale of revolution, treachery and courage.

 

About the book

1820, London. Sarah McCaffrey, fleeing arrest for her part in a failed rebellion, thinks she has escaped when she finds herself aboard the Serpent, bound from London to the colony of New South Wales. But when the captain’s reckless actions drive the ship into a cliff, Sarah is the sole survivor.

Adopting a false identity, Sarah determines to make a new life for herself in Sydney. She takes the first work she can find, under the formidable Molly Thistle, who has grown her late husband’s business into a sprawling trade empire. As time passes, Sarah begins to see there is more than one way of changing the world—but then her past follows her across the seas …

Meg Keneally’s second solo novel is an exciting historical fiction adventure about power, sedition and survival. With a strong lead female protagonist, the novel’s themes of political resistance and rebellion are rich in history but deeply relevant for today’s world. This one is for fans of historical, adventure and women’s fiction, in the vein of Kate Forsyth, Kate Morton, and even Clive Cussler.

Read an extract of The Wreck here.

 

About the author

Meg Keneally has always been fascinated by the ocean and history, in particular maritime history and archaeology. A former SCUBA diving instructor, Meg still spends as much time underwater as she can. Meg has worked as a public affairs officer, sub-editor, freelance feature writer, reporter, and talkback radio producer, before co-founding a financial service public relations company, which she then sold after having her first child. For more than ten years, Meg has worked in corporate affairs for listed financial services companies. She is co-author with Tom Keneally of The Monsarrat Series of historical mysteries. Fled, Meg’s first solo novel, was published in 2019 by Echo Publishing. She lives in Sydney.

 

 

View the trailer clip

 

Advance praise

‘An irresistible feast of history, adventure, intrigue and tragedy. Epic yet tender. Authentic yet inspired’—Clare Wright

‘Moving and heartbreaking, the rhythm of the sea runs through every page of this dramatic, evocative tale’—Woman’s Weekly

 

Win an advance reading copy of The Wreck

For your chance to win an advance reading copy, be one of the first to email Echo Publishing with ‘The Wreck’ in the subject line.

 

 

 

Contact us

Subscriptions
subscriptions@booksandpublishing.com.au

Editorial
Editor
Kelsey Oldham
kelsey@booksandpublishing.com.au

Digital editor
Brad Jefferies
brad@booksandpublishing.com.au

Acting editor, Daily
Matthia Dempsey
matthia@booksandpublishing.com.au

Classifieds, jobs and notices
submit.booksandpublishing.com.au
classifieds@booksandpublishing.com.au

Display advertising
Advertising sales manager
advertising@booksandpublishing.com.au

Select newsletters

Select which newsletters you’d like to receive here.
Unsubscribe from individual newsletters here.
Or unsubscribe from all newsletters here.

View articles

Purchase a subscription to Books+Publishing to view all articles on the website.

If you need help with your subscription, please email the Subscriptions team.

Share