Book Buzz
Image. Advertisement:
Book Buzz is a promotional newsletter supported by the publishers.

 

About the book

Published today, The Grandest Bookshop in the World is the enchanting debut from a brilliant new Australian voice, Amelia Mellor. Set in Melbourne, 1893, in Cole’s Book Arcade – the largest and most spectacular bookshop in the world – this fantasy novel takes readers on a thrilling adventure filled with magic, puzzles and high suspense. This is perfect for fans of Nevermoor and Deltora Quest, and any middle reader who loves visiting bookstores!

We’re thrilled that Amelia Mellor will return in November 2021 with a spectacular second novel set twenty years earlier in the same enthralling world.

 

Meet the author

 

The Grandest Campaign

  • Thanks to incredible early support from retailers, we have already ordered a 17,500 to top up the original 17,500 print run. Thank you all for backing this debut.
  • Stunning window decals available so every bookshop can be ‘The Grandest Bookshop in the World’.
  • Digital advertising targeting the parents of Australia’s avid middle-grade readers.
  • Huge media coverage around the real Cole’s Book Arcade, including radio and metro newspaper interviews.
  • Author Amelia Mellor is an English teacher and her enthusiasm for literature is catching. She is available for virtual events, book clubs and workshops.

 

 

The story

Pearl and Vally Cole live in a bookshop. And not just any bookshop. In 1893, Cole’s Book Arcade in Melbourne is the grandest bookshop in the world, brimming with every curiosity imaginable. Each day brings fresh delights for the siblings: voice-changing sweets, talking parrots, a new story written just for them by their eccentric father.

When Pearl and Vally learn that Pa has risked the Arcade – and himself – in a shocking deal with the mysterious Obscurosmith, the siblings hatch a plan. But can Pearl and Vally save their home – and their father – before time runs out?

 

Request a reading copy

Contact Affirm Press to request a reading copy. Plus, can you solve this riddle from The Grandest Bookshop in the World? Win five copies to sell in store (RRP $100) if you’re the first to email Affirm Press with a photo displaying a dozen coins in three rows of five.

 

 

 

 

Contact us

Subscriptions
subscriptions@booksandpublishing.com.au

Editorial
Editor
Kelsey Oldham
kelsey@booksandpublishing.com.au

Digital editor
Brad Jefferies
brad@booksandpublishing.com.au

Acting editor, Daily
Matthia Dempsey
matthia@booksandpublishing.com.au

Classifieds, jobs and notices
submit.booksandpublishing.com.au
classifieds@booksandpublishing.com.au

Display advertising
Advertising sales manager
advertising@booksandpublishing.com.au

Select newsletters

Select which newsletters you’d like to receive here.
Unsubscribe from individual newsletters here.
Or unsubscribe from all newsletters here.

View articles

Purchase a subscription to Books+Publishing to view all articles on the website.

If you need help with your subscription, please email the Subscriptions team.

Share