Book Buzz
Image. Advertisement:
Book Buzz is a promotional newsletter supported by the publishers.

 

NewSouth’s new books for spring will
fling you into space, take you
back in time, and leave you thinking.

 

Spacewarp: Colliding comets and other cosmic catastrophes

From stargazing to space travel, killer asteroids to aliens, Spacewarp explores all there is to know—and more!—about the universe.

  • The first book for children from astronomer and internationally bestselling author Fred Watson.
  • Beautifully illustrated with quirky drawings and diagrams from Fred himself.
  • For ages 10+.

Why do stars twinkle? How’s the best way to start spotting constellations and comets? Is there life beyond Earth? He’s covered the big space questions for adults, now Australia’s very own Astronomer-at-Large Fred Watson embarks on a grand tour of the universe especially for children.

Fred Watson is a world-renowned astronomer best known for his radio and TV broadcasts, books, and other ventures, which have earned him many awards. He even has an asteroid named after him (5691 Fredwatson), but says that if it hits the Earth, it won’t be his fault.

Read a sample chapter of Spacewarp.

 

 

Hippocrasy: How doctors are betraying their oath

Two world-leading doctors blow the lid off the medical system.

  • Takes the pledges of the Hippocratic oath as chapter headings to show how modern medicine has betrayed each pledge.
  • Exposes well-intended but often harmful practices based on misguided motives such as more-is-better, defensive medicine and maximising profits.
  • Reveals the tests, drugs and treatment that provide no benefit for the patient.
  • Empowers patients to ask important questions: Are the benefits worth the risks? What alternatives are there? What would happen if I did nothing?

This powerful exposé explores everything from overdiagnosis and overtreatment, to the role of Big Pharma and the inherent problem of a medical system based on treating rather than preventing illness. In Hippocrasy, two world-leading doctors reveal the true state of modern medicine and how doctors are letting their patients down. They argue that the benefits of treatments are often wildly overstated and the harms understated. That overtreatment and overdiagnosis are rife. And the medical system is not fit for purpose: designed to deliver health care not health.

Professor Rachelle Buchbinder AO is a physician specialising in rheumatology and a clinical epidemiologist and Director of the Monash Department of Clinical Epidemiology. She was awarded an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) for services to epidemiology and rheumatology.

Professor Ian Harris AM is an orthopaedic surgeon at Liverpool, St George and Sutherland hospitals and a Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery. He is the author of Surgery: The ultimate placebo and was awarded a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for services to orthopaedic surgery.

‘One of the hardest things for a doctor to do … is nothing. This superb book explains how in medicine and surgery, less is often not just more, it’s closer to the oath we’re all supposed to practice by.’
Dr Norman Swan, award-winning producer and broadcaster of the Health Report and Coronacast

‘This eye-opening and enthralling book on the medical and moral hazards which beset the health profession should be compulsory reading. It’s a must-read for patients and practitioners alike.’
—Kate McClymont AM, award-winning investigative journalist for the Sydney Morning Herald/The Age

 

 

Australia & the Pacific: A history 

A sweeping narrative history of Australia and the Pacific Ocean, from the shifting of the continents until the present day.

  • From the award-winning author of Sydney HarbourCoast and Rivers.
  • Features over 40 spectacular images.
  • Publication will accompany a Pacific map exhibition at the State Library of NSW in 2022.

Acclaimed historian Ian Hoskins examines Australia’s story in a Pacific context—from our relationship with neighbours Papua New Guinea, Tahiti and New Zealand to our complex ties with China, Japan and the United States. Australia & the Pacific explores the colonists’ attempts to exploit the riches of the region while keeping ‘white Australia’ separate from the Asians, Melanesians and Polynesians who surrounded them, and how the advent of modern human rights and the creation of the UN after World War Two changed Australia. And, more recently, the offshore detention of asylum seekers, the current debates over climate change and Australia’s responsibilities towards its threatened neighbours.

Ian Hoskins has worked as an academic and public historian in Sydney for thirty years. He won the 2010 Queensland Premier’s Literary Prize for History and the New South Wales Premier’s Prize for Regional and Community History in 2015.

‘Ian Hoskins has written a major book.’
—Iain McCalman, author of The Reef

Read a sample chapter of Australia & the Pacific.

 

 

Edith Blake’s War

The heart-stopping story of the only Australian nurse killed in action in World War I.

  • For readers who loved The Anzac Girls and Kitty’s War.
  • Based on diary entries and letters home, this fascinating history reveals a young Australian nurse’s firsthand experience of war.
  • Edith’s remarkable story is brought to life with a beautiful black-and-white picture section.

In the early hours of 26 February 1918, the British hospital ship Glenart Castle steamed into the Bristol Channel, heading for France to pick up wounded men from the killing fields of the Western Front. On board was 32-year-old Australian nurse, Edith Blake. After being torpedoed by a German U-boat, the Glenart Castle took minutes to sink. Of the 182 on board, 153 perished including all eight nurses. Edith Blake’s War uncovers her incredible story, through personal letters sent back home.

Krista Vane-Tempest is a volunteer guide at the Australian War Memorial and lives in Canberra with her husband and three children.

Read a sample chapter of Edith Blake’s War.

 

 

Glass: The life and art of Klaus Moje

The first major book on one of the most influential glass artists of his time.

  • Draws on hours of exclusive interviews and complete access to his personal archive of documents and images.
  • 150 stunning colour plates showcase the breadth of Moje’s work, from his earliest in the 1960s up to those completed shortly before he died.
  • Includes never-before-seen pieces.

Born in Hamburg in 1936, Moje moved to Australia where he worked as an educator and artist and had a huge influence on national and international glass communities. As Head of the Glass Workshop at the School of Art and Design, Australian National University, Moje built one of the most successful glass education programs in the world. His kiln-formed glass reflected his passion for the colour and geometry he saw in the natural world around him, and his creativity and artistic spirit inspired generations of studio glass artists.

Nola Anderson is a director of Canberra Glassworks and author of Australian War Memorial: Treasures from a Century of Collecting, the Australian War Memorial’s first major survey publication of its collection of over four million items.

Read a sample chapter of Glass: The life and art of Klaus Moje.

 

Publicity and marketing

  • National review, interview and extract coverage across print, TV, radio and podcasts
  • Advertising in catalogues, print and online
  • Extensive social media campaign with digital assets available
  • Launches and events in major capital cities in-person and online

For all publicity and marketing enquiries, contact publicity@newsouthbooks.com.au

 

 

 

Contact us

Subscriptions
subscriptions@booksandpublishing.com.au

Editorial
Editor
Kelsey Oldham
kelsey@booksandpublishing.com.au

Digital editor
Brad Jefferies
brad@booksandpublishing.com.au

Acting editor, Daily
Matthia Dempsey
matthia@booksandpublishing.com.au

Editorial assistant
Anthea Yang
anthea@booksandpublishing.com.au

Classifieds, jobs and notices
submit.booksandpublishing.com.au
classifieds@booksandpublishing.com.au

Display advertising
advertising@booksandpublishing.com.au

Select newsletters

Select which newsletters you’d like to receive here.
Unsubscribe from individual newsletters here.
Or unsubscribe from all newsletters here.

View articles

Purchase a subscription to Books+Publishing to view all articles on the website.

If you need help with your subscription, please email the Subscriptions team.

Share