Book Buzz
Image. Advertisement:
Book Buzz is a promotional newsletter supported by the publishers.

 

Let me introduce myself and my unfortunate predicament:

‘It’s easy to read and funny and I like the most that friendship and kindness eventually prevail and people are given a second chance.’
—Felix, aged 9, WA

‘This bad boy’s journey is a laugh-out-loud delight, packed with cartoons and footnotes, perfect for fans of The Wimpy Kid.’
The Daily Mail

‘Five stars. Defiantly childish and silly – and all the better for it.’
—SFX

‘Hilarious, clever, addictive and so full of heart that I truly didn’t want it to end.’
—Annabel Steadman, Author of Skandar and the Unicorn Thief

Packed with doodles and cartoons, this hilarious diary of Norse God Loki is no Odin-ary book!

After one prank too many, trickster god Loki is banished to live as a “normal” school boy. If he can show moral improvement within one month, then Loki can return to Asgard … and if he can’t? Then it’s eternity in a pit of angry snakes. To keep track of his progress, Odin has handed over this magical diary in which Loki is forced to confess the truth. (Even when that truth is as ugly as a naked mole-rat.)

As if moral improvement and the indignities of school weren’t challenging enough, Loki is banned from using his awesome godly powers and (even worse) must put up with Thor tagging along and making him look bad. Anyone reading Loki’s diary is about to learn that this is one god who hasn’t a clue how to tell good from bad, trust from tricks, or friends from enemies…

After its bestselling UK debut, Loki lands in Australia and New Zealand May 18, 2022.

#BeLessLoki

Visit my website for even more goodies: character bios, activity sheets, teacher notes and more!

Louie Stowell started her career writing carefully-researched books about space, ancient Egypt, politics and science but eventually lapsed into just making stuff up. She has written fiction for 8–12 but Loki: A Bad God’s Guide to Being Good is her first project as both author and illustrator, inspired by her research into Norse myths. Louie writes full time in London, where she lives with her wife Karen, her dog Buffy and a creepy puppet that is probably cursed.

Get to know me even better in this excerpt from my diary!

Want to get your hands on an early copy? Email the idiot mortals at marketingwba@walkerbooks.com.au with ‘Loki Book Buzz Giveaway’ in the subject line, telling us why you’re excited to read my book (try to contain yourself to as few words as you can, I know it’ll be difficult). The five answers I deem best will win an early copy!

  • Advertising and giveaways in K-Zone Magazine
  • Nation-wide book drop with The Book Fairies
  • Advertising with Better Reading Kids
  • Bookmarks, shelf-talkers, trailer and activity sheets available
  • Social media advertising
  • Specially wrapped review copies with a gift sent to journalists, bloggers, influencers, podcasters and other media
  • Colouring sheet and giveaway in the Sunday Telegraph

 

Loki: A Bad God’s Guide to Being Good
Louie Stowell
Walker Books
Released 18 May 2022
Paperback
ISBN 9781406399752
RRP $17.99
Readers 8+
Illustrations © Louie Stowell

 

 

 

 

Contact us

Subscriptions
subscriptions@booksandpublishing.com.au

Editorial
Editor
Kelsey Oldham
kelsey@booksandpublishing.com.au

Digital editor
Brad Jefferies
brad@booksandpublishing.com.au

Acting editor, Daily
Matthia Dempsey
matthia@booksandpublishing.com.au

Editorial assistant
Anthea Yang
anthea@booksandpublishing.com.au

Classifieds, jobs and notices
submit.booksandpublishing.com.au
classifieds@booksandpublishing.com.au

Display advertising
advertising@booksandpublishing.com.au

Select newsletters

Select which newsletters you’d like to receive here.
Unsubscribe from individual newsletters here.
Or unsubscribe from all newsletters here.

View articles

Purchase a subscription to Books+Publishing to view all articles on the website.

If you need help with your subscription, please email the Subscriptions team.

Share