Reviews Newsletter
Book reviews and interviews
The Toymaker 

The Toymaker
Liam Pieper, Hamish Hamilton, July 2016, reviewed by Hilary Simmons x

From the first few pages of The Toymaker it’s obvious that Liam Pieper isn’t pulling any punches: he has your attention straight away as his... Read more
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

On tour: Anne Bishop x

US fantasy writer Anne Bishop is travelling to Sydney and Perth in June. Her latest book Marked in Flesh (Penguin US) is the fourth book... Read more
 

 

Between the bars: Elspeth Muir on ‘Wasted’ x

Elspeth Muir’s memoir Wasted (Text) explores Australia’s drinking culture through her relationship with her younger brother Alexander, who died when he jumped off a Brisbane... Read more
 

 

Hiding in plain sight: Liam Pieper on ‘The Toymaker’ x

Liam Pieper’s The Toymaker (Hamish Hamilton) tells the story of privileged, wealthy Adam and his grandfather Arkady, who was imprisoned in Auschwitz. It is a... Read more
 

 

Remaking history: Kate Mildenhall on ‘Skylarking’ x

Kate Mildenhall’s Skylarking (Black Inc., August) is a historical novel about an intense female friendship. Reviewer Angela Andrewes spoke to the author. Skylarking is based... Read more
 

 

 

Contact us

Subscriptions
subscriptions@booksandpublishing.com.au

Editorial
Editor-in-chief
Andrew Wrathall
andrew@booksandpublishing.com.au

News editor
Sarah Farquharson
sarah@booksandpublishing.com.au

Assistant editor
Kelsey Oldham
kelsey@booksandpublishing.com.au

Classifieds, jobs and notices
submit.booksandpublishing.com.au
classifieds@booksandpublishing.com.au

Display advertising
Advertising sales manager
advertising@booksandpublishing.com.au

Select newsletters

Select which newsletters you’d like to receive here.
Unsubscribe from individual newsletters here.
Or unsubscribe from all newsletters here.

View articles

Purchase a subscription to Books+Publishing to view all articles on the website.

If you need help with your subscription, please email the Subscriptions team.

Share