Weekly Book Newsletter
17 August 2016

National Bookshop Day 2016 the ‘most successful ever’

Australian Booksellers Association (ABA) CEO Joel Becker has described this year’s National Bookshop Day, held on 13 August, as the ‘most successful ever’, with unprecedented... Read more

Inky Awards 2016 shortlists announced

The shortlists for the 2016 Inky Awards have been announced. The awards are presented by the Centre for Youth Literature at the State Library of... Read more

‘The 78-Storey Treehouse’ sets new records for Australian title x

Andy Griffiths and Terry Denton’s The 78-Storey Treehouse (Pan) has sold more copies on its first day than any other Australian book, according to Dymocks... Read more

‘Harry Potter and the Cursed Child’ sells 212k copies in Oz in its first week x

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child playscript (J K Rowling, John Tiffany & Jack Thorne, Hachette) has sold 211,898 copies valued at $5.49m in its first... Read more

Bloomsbury announces plans for ‘Fantastic Beasts’ titles x

Bloomsbury Children’s Books has acquired the rights to several movie tie-in books for Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them and ‘J K Rowling’s Wizarding... Read more

NSW Premier’s History Awards 2016 shortlists announced

The shortlists for the 2016 New South Wales Premier’s History Awards have been announced. The shortlisted titles in each category are: Australian History Prize ($15,000)... Read more

Fairfax to host #SaveOzStories debates

Fairfax newspapers the Age and the Sydney Morning Herald will host panel discussions in Melbourne and Sydney next week to debate how the Productivity Commission’s... Read more

Robinsons to open eighth store x

Independent bookselling chain Robinsons Bookshop will open its eighth store at Fountain Gate shopping centre in Narre Warren in Melbourne’s outer south-east in October. Co-owner... Read more

Text acquires 2016 Vic Prem’s Unpublished Manuscript winner

Text Publishing has acquired world rights to the short-story collection Australia Day by Melanie Cheng, the winner of the 2016 Victorian Premier’s Literary Award for... Read more

Text acquires Macarthur biography

Text has acquired world rights to a biography of Anglo-Australian settler and pioneer Elizabeth Macarthur by writer Michelle Scott Tucker in a two-book deal negotiated... Read more

New combined website for PRH

Penguin Random House (PRH) has launched its redesigned joint website. The site at www.penguin.com.au combines the previously separate Penguin and Random House websites under the... Read more

‘KYD’ to end print publication, launch new awards

Literary journal Kill Your Darlings (KYD) has announced that it will move to digital-only publishing in 2017. The journal, which launched in March 2010, will... Read more

NZ$800,000 raised to secure Katherine Mansfield Menton Fellowship

A successful fundraising campaign has secured the future of the Katherine Mansfield Menton Fellowship, which enables a New Zealand writer to live for up to... Read more

‘Overland’ Victoria University Short Story Prize 2016 shortlist announced

The shortlist for the 2016 Overland Victoria University Short Story Prize for New and Emerging Writers has been announced. The shortlisted stories are: ‘The Way to Amalthea’... Read more

Quote of the week x

‘The paper book is a value proposition. Twenty or thirty dollars buys you hours of deep, screen-free, distraction-free reading’—author Nick Earls on the benefits of... Read more

Rights round-up x

Sales Fiction—Alex Adsett Publishing Services has sold world rights to The Hot Guy (Mel Campbell & Anthony Morris) to Echo. Nonfiction—Black Inc. has sold Korean... Read more

Bestsellers this week

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child playscript (J K Rowling, John Tiffany & Jack Thorne, Hachette) has debuted at the top of this week’s highest new... Read more

HarperCollins releases 2016 full year results

In the US, HarperCollins has reported its full year results for the year ending 30 June 2016, which saw a drop in revenue of 1.2% to US$1.65bn (A$2.14bn),... Read more

Shapiro, Markovits win 2016 James Tait Black Prizes

The winners of the James Tait Black Prizes for fiction and biography—the UK’s oldest literary awards—have been announced. James Shapiro has won the biography prize... Read more

PEN/Nabokov award relaunched as literary prize for international authors

The PEN/Nabokov award has been relaunched with a renewed focus on international writers, reports the Guardian. The US$50,000 (A$64,995) literary prize recognises the work of writers... Read more

Not the Booker Prize 2016 shortlist announced

The shortlist has been announced for this year’s Not the Booker Prize, which is run by the Guardian in the UK and voted on by... Read more

First Bookshop Day planned for the UK

In the UK, the Booksellers Association (BA) is planning for its first Bookshop Day for the UK and Ireland on 8 October, reports the Bookseller.... Read more

SA State Library to cut 20 jobs x

The State Library of South Australia (SLSA) will cut nearly 20 full-time jobs as part of a restructure to save $6m over three years, reports... Read more

ALIA makes My Big Idea shortlist

The Australian Library and Information Association’s (ALIA) submission to the Concern for Future Generation’s My Big Idea national competition has made the shortlist. ALIA’s suggestion... Read more

‘Significant decrease’ in library use by UK adults x

In the UK, a new report commissioned by the department of culture, media and sport (DCMS) has revealed a ‘significant decrease’ in the proportion of... Read more

Student assessment: Meet the 2016 Inky Awards judges x

‘The rise of book blogging has seen people appreciating books as artefacts again, not just as stories. The saying “don’t judge a book by its... Read more

Small publisher spotlight: Celapene Press x

Melbourne-based Celapene Press released its first title—an anthology called Page Seventeen—in 2005 before specialising in children’s and YA fiction. ‘Our first children’s book was Machino... Read more

Cath Crowley’s ‘Words in Deep Blue’ x

‘Highly recommended for fans of Trinity Doyle’s Pieces of Sky and Fiona Wood’s Cloudwish, this is a love letter to books and bookshops, to the... Read more

Stanojlovic appointed Wavesound general manager x

Nada Stanojlovic has been appointed general manager and director of audiobook publisher Wavesound, replacing the retiring Herbery Hillary, who is stepping down from the position... Read more

Crawford joins Wolf Literary x

Former UQP marketing coordinator Rachel Crawford has joined Wolf Literary in New York as an agent.

Massey University Press appoints new managing editor x

Massey University Press has appointed Anna Bowbyes as its new managing editor. Bowbyes replaces Kimberley Davis, who has left the company to take up a... Read more

Lonely Planet Returns Reminder x

Please be aware that from the end of August any returns that are mailed to our old Footscray Distribution Centre will be returned to sender.... Read more

UQP Announces New Head of Marketing x

UQP is delighted to welcome Harriet Swatman as its new head of marketing. Harriet brings to the role a wealth of experience in publicity, PR... Read more

Contact us

Subscriptions
subscriptions@booksandpublishing.com.au
Phone (03) 8517-8333

Editorial
Editor-in-chief
Andrew Wrathall
andrew@booksandpublishing.com.au

News editor
Sarah Farquharson
sarah@booksandpublishing.com.au

Assistant editor
Kelsey Oldham
kelsey@booksandpublishing.com.au

Classifieds, jobs and notices
submit.booksandpublishing.com.au
classifieds@booksandpublishing.com.au

Display advertising
Advertising sales manager
Fi Tunnicliff
advertising@booksandpublishing.com.au
Phone (03) 8517-8321

Books and Publishing Pty Ltd
(The publication was formerly owned by Thorpe-Bowker)

Address
Books+Publishing, Level 1, Building 1, 658 Church Street, Richmond, VIC 3121 Australia

Books+Publishing’s website and publications contain content that is exclusive to subscribers. To photocopy, email or otherwise reproduce all or part of Books+Publishing’s content without the written permission of the publisher is illegal.

News

Do you want to submit news to Books+Publishing?
Read the editorial submissions page.

Classifieds

Classifieds, job ads and notices can be placed in Books+Publishing via the advertising submissions page.

Select newsletters

Select which newsletters you’d like to receive here.
Unsubscribe from individual newsletters here.
Or unsubscribe from all newsletters here.

View articles

Purchase a subscription to Books+Publishing to view all articles on the website.

If you need help with your subscription, please email the subscriptions team.

Share