Weekly Book Newsletter
Image. Advertisement: The Extremely Weird Thing That Happened in Huggabie Falls
28 February 2018
 

Waiting for Elijah

A brilliant new voice in Australian nonfiction, this is the stunning debut by former ABC journalist Kate Wild for fans of Helen Garner and Chloe... Read more
 

Lake Press to purchase Parragon Australia assets x

Australian publisher Lake Press has announced it will purchase Parragon Publishing Australia’s stock and intellectual property together with the assets of Parragon’s distribution centre on... Read more

Text sells ‘The Bookshop of the Broken Hearted’ into North America

Text Publishing has sold North American rights to Robert Hillman’s forthcoming novel The Bookshop of the Broken Hearted to Putnam and Penguin Canada ‘for a... Read more
Image. Advertisement: Jennifer Maiden

CBCA Notable Books for 2018 announced

The Children’s Book Council of Australian (CBCA) has released its list of Notable Books for 2018. They are as follows: Older readers Mallee Boys (Charlie... Read more

Readings Children’s Book Prize 2018 shortlist announced

The shortlist for the Readings Children’s Book Prize for 2018 has been announced. The six shortlisted titles are: Tarin of the Mammoths: The Exile (Jo... Read more

Bray appointed Bloomsbury Australia MD

Liz Bray has been appointed the managing director of Bloomsbury Australia following the recent departure of Kate Cubitt. Bray has worked in the publishing industry... Read more
Image. Advertisement:

Screen Australia announces funding for new book-to-film adaptations x

Films based on books by Hannah Kent, Alice Pung, Peter Goldsworthy and Tara Winkler are among the latest projects to receive funding from Screen Australia.... Read more

McLean appointed acting CEO of UPLIT and BWF

Ann McLean has been appointed acting chief executive officer for 2018 at UPLIT, the organisation responsible for the Brisbane Writers Festival (BWF). McLean will serve... Read more

Clarke to edit new anthology ‘Growing Up African in Australia’

Black Inc. has announced it will publish a new anthology in 2019, Growing up African in Australia, which will be edited by Maxine Beneba Clarke,... Read more
Image. Advertisement:

Watts wins UWAP Dorothy Hewett Award for an unpublished manuscript

Western Australian poet Julie Watts has won the 2018 UWA Publishing (UWAP) Dorothy Hewett Award for an unpublished manuscript for her poetry manuscript, ‘Legacy’. Watts... Read more

Yolngu artist Warrkatja wins inaugural Magabala illustrator award

Yolngu artist Johnny Warrkatja Malibirr has won Magabala Books’ inaugural Kestin Indigenous Illustrator Award, reports the Australian. New to illustrating books, Warrkatja is a painter... Read more

Five ANZ publishers nominated for Bologna Prize x

Five Australian and New Zealand publishers have been nominated for the Bologna Prize for Best Children’s Publisher of the Year in the Oceania category. The... Read more

Asialink 2018 arts exchanges announced

The recipients of the University of Melbourne’s Asialink Arts Exchanges Program (previously known as the Residencies Program) for 2018 have been announced. Writers receiving residencies in... Read more

Gomides awarded 2018 Kat Muscat Fellowship

Melbourne-based writer Ana Maria Gomides has been awarded the 2018 Kat Muscat Fellowship. Gomides will use the fellowship to work on a book of short... Read more

Silcox awarded ‘ABR’ 40th anniversary fellowship

The Australian Book Review (ABR) has announced Beejay Silcox as the recipient of its $10,000 Fortieth Birthday Fellowship. Silcox will contribute several articles and review... Read more

Farrell’s Bookshop celebrates 40 years x

Farrell’s Bookshop in Victoria’s Mornington Peninsula is celebrating its 40th anniversary this year. Farrell’s was founded in 1978 by Roy and Liz Farrell, who set... Read more

Feminist fairytale collection lands small press its first North American deal x

Australian publisher Serenity Press has sold US and Canadian rights to Kate Forsyth’s collection of feminist fairytale retellings, Vasilisa the Wise and Other Tales of... Read more

MidnightSun YA novel optioned for film x

Adelaide-based writer Cameron Raynes’ novel First Person Shooter (MidnightSun) has been optioned for film by Perth production company Factor 30 Films. First Person Shooter is... Read more

Araluen wins ‘Overland’ Judith Wright Poetry Prize

Evelyn Araluen has been awarded the 2017 Overland Judith Wright Poetry Prize for New and Emerging Poets. Araluen won the prize for her poem ‘Guarded... Read more

Marriott wins Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal

Children’s author, editor and teacher Janice Marriott has won the 2018 Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal, presented annually for lifetime achievement and distinguished contribution to New... Read more

‘Overland’ Neilma Sidney Short Story Prize 2017 shortlist announced

The shortlist for Overland’s Neilma Sidney Short Story Prize for travel-themed short fiction has been announced. The 13 shortlisted entries are: ‘If there are zebra... Read more

Quote of the week x

‘In my experience blokes feel confident writing young, in their twenties. Women take a while to get up the nerve to write their book’—Helen Garner... Read more

Rights round-up

Sales Fiction Penguin Random House has sold German-language rights to True Blue and Drifter’s Song (both Sasha Wasley); and Czech rights to The Chocolate Tin... Read more

Bestsellers this week x

This week’s top 10 bestsellers chart is led by two personal development titles: The Barefoot Investor (Scott Pape, Wiley) in top spot for the eighth... Read more

New ‘Books+Publishing’ reviews out now

Books+Publishing’s latest Reviews newsletter contains nine reviews of books publishing in April. Holly Ringland’s debut novel The Lost Flowers of Alice Hart (Fourth Estate) has... Read more

RiP Zelda D’Aprano

Australian feminist activist and author Zelda D’Aprano has died, aged 90. D’Aprano was an avid campaigner for women’s rights and equal pay. A fierce labour... Read more

RiP Beryl Fletcher

New Zealand feminist novelist Beryl Fletcher has died, aged 80. Fletcher grew up in what she described as ‘a socialist working-class family’ in Auckland, and... Read more

Pearson reports a return to profit; PRH revenue ‘slightly up’

UK educational publisher Pearson has posted its annual financial results, revealing pre-tax profits of £421 million (A$750 million), up from a £2.6 billion (A$4.6 billion)... Read more

UK consumer report finds fewer preschoolers being read to by parents

A UK report has revealed just 51% of preschool-age children are read to on a daily basis, a drop from 69% in 2013, reports the... Read more

PEN America Literary Awards 2018 winners announced

In the US, Pen America has announced the winners of its 2018 Literary Awards. Among the award winners are: PEN/Jean Stein Book Award Whereas (Layli... Read more

Amazon Publishing launches imprint Topple Books

In the US, Amazon Publishing has launched the imprint Topple Books, with filmmaker, writer and LGBTQ activist Jill Soloway to oversee the list as editor-in-chief,... Read more

Shortlist announced for 2018 Jhalak Prize for BAME writers

The shortlist for the UK’s Jhalak Prize for black, Asian and minority ethnic (BAME) writers has been announced. The shortlisted titles are: The Golden Legend... Read more

Bloomsbury to release new Hosseini refugee book

Bloomsbury has announced it will publish a new book by Khaled Hosseini, the author of The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns. Hosseini’s new... Read more

25,000 books removed from Queensland library

The public library in Redbank Plains, near Ipswich, has shifted 25,000 books from its collection in order to clear more space for extra public computers... Read more

ANU closes library following flash flooding

A flash flood in Canberra has caused damage to books at Australian National University’s (ANU) Chifley Library, with the library announcing it will be closed... Read more

British Library’s Harry Potter exhibition available online

The British Library has collaborated with Google to launch a virtual version of its Harry Potter: A History of Magic exhibition on the Google Arts... Read more

Warm welcome: Kyneton’s Squishy Minnie x

When children’s bookstore Squishy Minnie opened in the Victorian town of Kyneton, it filled an important gap in the regional community. Owner and manager Kristen... Read more

Adam Cece's 'The Extremely Weird Thing that Happened in Huggabie Falls' x

‘The Extremely Weird Thing that Happened in Huggabie Falls won the 2017 Text Prize, and it’s easy to see why: it’s a funny read, full of... Read more

Varuna residential fellowship for NT writers and songwriters x

Spread the word about Varuna’s latest Fellowship supported by the Northern Territory Government through Arts NT. Located in the world-heritage listed Blue Mountains, Varuna offers... Read more

Shop fitout for sale

Collins Booksellers Bacchus Marsh has a full shop fitout available for $20,000. High quality, and still in very good condition. Please contact via email for... Read more

Melbourne Prize for Literature 2018: registrations of interest now open

Please visit www.melbourneprize.org to register your interest in the Melbourne Prize for Literature 2018 & Awards, and to receive the Entry Guidelines. Prize pool over... Read more

Leather Soul: A Half-back Flanker’s Rhythm and Blues by Bob Murphy

The cover of Bob Murphy’s forthcoming memoir, Leather Soul: A Half-back Flanker’s Rhythm and Blues, will be revealed at 10.30am on Thursday, 1 March, supported... Read more

Lake Press changeover with Parragon Publishing

Lake Press and Parragon Publishing have reached an agreement to the effect that Lake Press will purchase Parragon’s stock and IP together with the assets... Read more

Stock available now and confirmed PR: ‘It’s Even Worse than You Think’—the book you ‘need to read’ about Trump

Simon & Schuster Australia announces that stock of It’s Even Worse Than You Think by David Cay Johnston (978198210193 $35.00) is now available. No journalist... Read more

Contact us

Subscriptions
subscriptions@booksandpublishing.com.au
Phone (03) 8517-8333

Editorial
Editor-in-chief
Andrew Wrathall
andrew@booksandpublishing.com.au

News editor
Sarah Farquharson
sarah@booksandpublishing.com.au

Assistant editor
Kelsey Oldham
kelsey@booksandpublishing.com.au

Library news editor
Shannon Wood
shannon@booksandpublishing.com.au

Classifieds, jobs and notices
submit.booksandpublishing.com.au
classifieds@booksandpublishing.com.au

Display advertising
Advertising sales manager
Fi Tunnicliff
advertising@booksandpublishing.com.au
Phone (03) 8517-8321

Books and Publishing Pty Ltd
(The publication was formerly owned by Thorpe-Bowker)

Address
PO Box 6509, St Kilda Road Central, VIC 8008

Books+Publishing’s website and publications contain content that is exclusive to subscribers. To photocopy, email or otherwise reproduce all or part of Books+Publishing’s content without the written permission of the publisher is illegal.

News

Do you want to submit news to Books+Publishing?
Read the editorial submissions page.

Classifieds

Classifieds, job ads and notices can be placed in Books+Publishing via the advertising submissions page.

Select newsletters

Select which newsletters you’d like to receive here.
Unsubscribe from individual newsletters here.
Or unsubscribe from all newsletters here.

View articles

Purchase a subscription to Books+Publishing to view all articles on the website.

If you need help with your subscription, please email the subscriptions team.

Share >