Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Tag: act >


Popular tags

Latest ArtsACT grant recipients announced

16 June 2020

ArtsACT has announced the successful recipients of its Homefront funding round, which was developed to support individual artists in response to the impact of Covid-19 on the arts sector. Funding...

Canberra’s Noted writers’ festival launches program

27 February 2015

Canberra’s ‘experimental’ writers’ festival Noted has launched its first program.The program is divided into three streams—live, digital and professional development—and features a range of emerging writers and artists.The live stream...

In brief 

2 April 2014

ACT to close mobile-library serviceCanberra’s mobile-library service will cease operations in July due to a decline in borrowing, reports the Canberra Times. The ACT Government flagged cuts to the service...

ACT Book of the Year Award 2013 shortlist announced

12 March 2014

The shortlist for the 2013 Australian Capital Territory Book of the Year Award has been announced. The shortlisted titles are: Canberra (Paul Daley, NewSouth) Island Earth: New and Selected Poems...

In brief 

4 November 2013

ALIA contributes to proposal to establish local Network of Emerging Library Innovators The Australian Library and Information Association (ALIA) has announced that it is contributing to a proposal to establish a...

ACT Poetry Prize 2013 winner announced 

19 July 2013

Canberra-based author Lesley Lebkowicz has won the 2013 ACT Poetry Prize. Lebkowicz’s poem ‘Inside’ was chosen from 128 entries to win the annual award, which carries a cash prize of...

Gammage wins 2012 ACT Book of the Year Award

7 December 2012

Bill Gammage has won the 2012 Australian Capital Territory Book of the Year Award for The Biggest Estate on Earth: How Aborigines Made Australia (A&U). Gammage’s book was selected from...

2012 COOL Awards winners announced

20 November 2012

The winners of the 2012 Canberra’s Own Outstanding List (COOL) Awards have been announced. The winning titles are: Picture Storybooks: The Terrible Plop (Ursula Dubosarsky & Andrew Joyner, Viking) Fiction...

ACT libraries waive overdue fines 

3 July 2012

As of 1 July, all outstanding fines for ACT library members have been removed, and library members will no longer be fined for items up to 28 days overdue, Libraries...

Paperchain Bookstore Manuka buys Batemans Bay store 

5 July 2011

The owners of independent bookstore Paperchain in Manuka, Canberra, have recently purchased the Bay Bookshop in Batemans Bay on the NSW south coast. Maxeme and Roger Tall, who have purchased the...

Changes to public holiday trading in VIC and ACT 

30 November 2010

The newly elected Victorian Liberal National Coalition Government is likely to remove the ban on Easter Sunday trading in the state. In a statement released during the recent Victorian state...

ACT Book of the Year Award shortlist announced 

17 November 2009

The shortlist for this year's ACT Book of the Year Awards has been announced. Twenty-three nominations were received for the $10,000 award, which recognises ‘excellence in quality contemporary literary works...