Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Tag: genre >


Popular tags

Local writer, artist among Hugo Awards winners

19 August 2019

The winners of this year’s Hugo Awards, presented annually by the World Science Fiction Convention, have been announced. Australian Foz Meadows won in the Best Fan Writer category and Australia-based...

RiP Sara Douglass 

26 September 2011

Sara Douglass, bestselling Australian fantasy writer, has died.  The author twice won the Aurelius Award for Best Fantasy Novel. HarperCollins writes:  ‘Sara was the first Australian signed to HarperCollins' Voyager list...

2010 Australian Shadows Awards winners announced 

19 April 2011

The winners of the 2010 Australian Shadows Awards have been announced. Bob Franklin has won the long fiction category for Under Stones (Affirm Press) and Kirstyn McDermott has won the short...

HarperCollins creates global Voyager imprint 

7 September 2010

HarperCollins has announced its US imprint Eos Books will be rebranded as HarperVoyager ‘joining together with the celebrated Voyager imprints in Australia/New Zealand and the UK'. Michael Moynahan, HarperCollins CEO...

Ditmar awards shortlist: voting now open 

3 August 2010

Voting for the Australian SF ('Ditmar') Award for 2010 is now open, and will remain open until one minute before midnight Perth time on Wednesday 1 September.Nominated for best novel are:...

Shaun Tan nominated for Hugo Award 

6 April 2010

Shaun Tan is among the nominees for the 2010 Hugo Awards, to be announced at Aussiecon 4, the 68th World Science Fiction Convention. First presented in 1953, the Hugo awards...

Dowling wins Shadows Award 

7 April 2008

Terry Dowling's short story ‘Toother' has won the Australian Shadows Award for best horror story of 2007. Published in Eclipse 1 (Night Shade Books), Dowling's tale of a serial killer in...

Revenue down but income up at Harlequin 

3 March 2008

Total international revenue at Harlequin fell 2% to C$462.7 million (A$498.5 million) in 2007, while operating income rose 7% to C$60.6 million (A$65.3 million). Torstar, the romance publisher's Canadian parent...

Ditmar Awards shortlist announced 

25 February 2008

The shortlist for the 2008 Australian Science Fiction Awards (also known as the Ditmars) has been announced. In the running for best novel are: The Company of the Dead (David Kowalski,...

Aurealis winners 

29 January 2008

The winners of the 2007 Aurealis Awards for speculative fiction have been announced. ‘The field was of a particularly high standard this year, indicative of the increasing quality of Australian...

NY reception promotes Oz speculative fiction 

7 November 2007

Australian authors were showcased to key US publishing industry figures at a reception for Australian science fiction and fantasy writers in New York on 30 October. The event, hosted by...

Dowling wins International Horror Guild award 

6 November 2007

Basic Black: Tales of Appropriate Fear (Cemetery Dance Publications), by Australian author Terry Dowling (pictured), is the joint winner of the International Horror Guild's award for best collection. Dowling's collection...