Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Tag: pen >


Popular tags

Salman Rushdie wins PEN/Pinter Prize 

23 June 2014

Salman Rushdie has won the 2014 PEN/Pinter Prize, reports the Bookseller. Established in 2009 by English PEN in memory of Nobel-Laureate playwright Harold Pinter, the award is presented annually for outstanding literary merit by...

Ackland receives PEN/Keneally Award 

19 November 2013

Journalist and editor Richard Ackland is the recipient of the 2013 PEN/Keneally Award for his contribution to promoting freedom of expression. Ackland, who is a legal columnist for Fairfax Media...

Moorhouse to boycott China tour 

2 February 2010

Australian author Frank Moorhouse has announced he will boycott a writers' tour of China in protest against the imprisonment of Chinese writer Liu Xiaobo. The tour, which has been funded by...

In brief 

5 January 2010

Wright receives honorary doctorateMiles Franklin-winning author Alexis Wright has received an honorary doctorate from RMIT, where she studied professional and creative writing. Wright, whose novel Carpentaria (Giramondo) won the 2007...

In brief 

13 July 2009

Barry to deliver Sydney PEN lectureMax Barry will give a lecture on ‘risk' as part of the Sydney PEN Voices project, on 15 July in Sydney and 21 July in...

In brief 

10 February 2009

Booksellers NZ Conference 2009 dates and theme announcedThe 2009 Booksellers Conference will be held at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Auckland, 26 to 27 July, with the theme ‘Rethinking the...

In brief 

18 November 2008

Book and newspaper sales up 20.5% on 2007Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) figures for September indicate books are bucking the flat national retail trend. While retail trade figures for the...

In brief 

24 June 2008

Dymocks debate raises funds for literacyThe Dymocks Literacy Foundation held its annual fundraiser last Thursday, at a debate event where guests Adam Spencer, Rob Carlton, Julia Morris, Chris Cheng, Rebecca...

Moorhouse wins 2007 PEN Keneally award 

27 March 2007

Frank Moorhouse has been named as the recipient of the biennial PEN Keneally Award. The award, named in honour of author Tom Keneally, recognises ‘an achievement in promoting freedom of...