Books+Publishing Weekly Book Newsletter
Image. Advertisement:
18 January 2023

Please complete our Christmas survey

Books+Publishing is currently conducting its annual Christmas survey of booksellers and publishers. Please take a few minutes to complete the survey online. We are accepting submissions... Read more
 
Image. Advertisement:

 

Indie Book Awards 2023 shortlist announced x

Leading Edge Books has announced the shortlists for the 2023 Indie Book Awards. The shortlisted titles in each category are: Fiction Limberlost (Robbie Arnott, Text)... Read more
 

 

BWF announces 2023 curators, Country of Focus

The Brisbane Writers Festival has announced the curators of its 2023 festival program. First Nations artist Daniel Browning, a descendent of the Bundjalung and Kullilli... Read more
 
Image. Advertisement:

Enache shortlisted for Novel Prize

Fitzcarraldo Editions, Giramondo and New Directions have announced the shortlist for the Novel Prize, a biennial international award for a book-length work of literary fiction.... Read more
 

Latest AusCo funding, Freo Press restructure, Nielsen 2022 report x

The Australia Council has announced its latest round of funding, with the Wheeler Centre’s Next Chapter program, and the Open Book internship program among the literature-related projects and activities; Fremantle Press has announced a restructure of its sales and marketing team, along with the retirement of customer service manager Cathy Szabo; and Nielsen’s 2022 report shows Australian book sales were up 7.2%.

In awards news, the winners of the 2023 Affirm Press Mentorship Award have been announced, along with the nine shortlisted writers for this year’s $20K Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship.

In the UK, independent bookshops reported an increase in Christmas sales, and Anthony Joseph has won the 2022 T S Eliot Prize for Sonnets for Albert (Bloomsbury).

 
Image. Advertisement:

 

Rights round-up x

Sales Fiction Affirm Press has sold large print rights for North America to The Dictionary of Lost Words (Pip Williams) to Thorndike Press. Jacinta di... Read more
 

 

Black’s YA fantasy ‘The Stolen Heir’ debuts at number 10 x

Top 10 bestsellers                                          It Starts with Us (Colleen Hoover, S&S) It Ends With Us (Colleen Hoover, S&S) RecipeTin Eats: Dinner (Nagi Maehashi, Macmillan) Atomic Habits... Read more
 

 

Children of Tomorrow (J R Burgmann, Upswell) x

J R Burgmann’s debut novel is an intergenerational story that foresees a century of environmental devastation. We begin in the present day, when one of... Read more
 

 

Judgement Day (Mali Waugh, Macmillan) x

Mali Waugh’s debut novel opens with an omniscient narrator observing that there were no signs or omens that family court judge Kaye Bailey was to... Read more
 

 

One Illumined Thread (Sally Colin-James, Fourth Estate) x

Fans of Sarah Winman and Pip Williams will love Sally Colin-James’s debut novel One Illumined Thread, an intriguing story of three women separated by centuries... Read more
 

 

The Wakes (Dianne Yarwood, Hachette) x

When Clare’s husband tells her one night that he’s unhappy, she’s not sure what to do—but helping her new friend Louisa start a funeral catering... Read more
 

 

The Glow (Sofie Laguna, illus by Marc McBride, A&U Children's) x

The Song of Lewis Carmichael brought us the excellent pairing of author Sofie Laguna and illustrator Marc McBride. The Glow is their latest collaboration, a... Read more
 

 

Mama's Chickens (Michelle Worthington, illus by Nicky Johnston, EK Books) x

Mama doesn’t like chickens. But when she gets some of her own, they quickly develop a relationship of gentle camaraderie. Then Mama begins to forget... Read more
 

 

Vale Jim Molan

Australian politician, major general in the Australian army and author Jim Molan has died, aged 72. HarperCollins Australia & New Zealand CEO Jim Demetriou writes:... Read more
 

Vale Shirley Shackleton

Shirley Shackleton, author of The Circle of Silence: A personal testimony before, during and after Balibo (Murdoch Books), has died aged 91. Shackleton spent many... Read more
 

 

Read the latest Publishers Weekly x

Books+Publishing is partnering with US trade news magazine Publishers Weekly to provide our subscribers with exclusive access to the weekly digital edition of PW magazine.... Read more
 

Shand replaces Scott as chair of SWF board x

Kathy Shand has been appointed chair of Sydney Writers’ Festival. Shand has served nine years on the festival board, the last two as deputy chair.... Read more
 

Nominate for $10,000 maritime history prizes

Nominations are invited for the 2023 Frank Broeze Memorial Maritime History Book Prize of $8000 and the 2023 Community Maritime History Prize of $2000. The awards are co-sponsored by the Australian Association for Maritime History and the Australian National Maritime Museum. For details, conditions and entry forms, see www.sea.museum/about/grants-and-awards/maritime-history-prizes or email publications@sea.museum.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

Contact us

Subscriptions
subscriptions@booksandpublishing.com.au
Phone (02) 8227-6486

Editorial
Please note that all editorial staff at Books+Publishing work part-time.

Editorial queries should be addressed to news@booksandpublishing.com.au to reach the team.

News editor
Brad Jefferies

Managing editor, publications
Matthia Dempsey

Editor
Angela Glindemann

Digital producer
Andrew Wrathall

Classifieds, jobs and notices
submit.booksandpublishing.com.au
classifieds@booksandpublishing.com.au

Display advertising
advertising@booksandpublishing.com.au

Company: Books and Publishing Pty Ltd

Address: Books+Publishing, PO Box 42, Prahran VIC 3181, Australia

Books+Publishing’s website and publications contain content that is exclusive to subscribers. To photocopy, email or otherwise reproduce all or part of Books+Publishing’s content without the written permission of the publisher is illegal.

News

Do you want to submit news to Books+Publishing?
Read the editorial submissions page.

Classifieds

Classifieds, job ads and notices can be placed in Books+Publishing via the advertising submissions page.

Select newsletters

Select which newsletters you’d like to receive here.
Unsubscribe from individual newsletters here.
Or unsubscribe from all newsletters here.

View articles

Purchase a subscription to Books+Publishing to view all articles on the website.

If you need help with your subscription, please email the subscriptions team.

Follow us