Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

2012 Inky Awards longlists announced

The longlists for the 2012 Inky Awards for young adult literature, run by the Centre for Youth Literature at the State Library of Victoria, have been announced. 

The Gold Inky Award longlist (for an Australian book) is:

  • Shift (Em Bailey, Hardie Grant Egmont)
  • Night Beach (Kirsty Eagar, Penguin)
  • Brotherband 1: The Outcasts (John Flanagan, Random House)
  • Act of Faith (Kelly Gardiner, HarperCollins)
  • Queen of the Night (Leanne Hall, Text)
  • Blood Song (Rhiannon Hart, Random House)
  • Sea Hearts (Margo Lanagan, A&U)
  • The Coming of the Whirlpool: Ship Kings 1 (Andrew McGahan, A&U)
  • The Deep: Here Be Dragons, Volume 1 (Tom Taylor, illus by James Brouwer, Gestalt Publishing)
  • The Reluctant Hallelujah (Gabrielle Williams, Puffin).


The Silver Inky Award longlist (for an International book) is:

  • Bitterblue (Kirstin Cashore, Victor Gollancz)
  • BZRK (Michael Grant, Egmont Books)
  • The Fault in Our Stars (John Green, Penguin)
  • Why We Broke Up (Daniel Handler, Hardie Grant Egmont)
  • Storm: Elementals 1 (Brigid Kemmerer, A&U)
  • Legend (Marie Lu, Puffin)
  • A Monster Calls (Patrick Ness, Walker Books)
  • Lola and the Boy Next Door (Stephanie Perkins, Penguin)
  • The Scorpio Races (Maggie Stiefvater, Scholastic)
  • Daughter of Smoke and Bone (Laini Taylor, Hodder).


The longlists were selected by the Centre for Youth Literature, assisted by the 2011 Inky Award judges and an independent industry expert.

Shortlists of five Australian and five international books will be selected by the 2012 Inky Awards judges, which include author James Moloney, reviewer and blogger Danielle Binks, and four teenage judges. This shortlist will be published on the Inside A Dog website on 27 August and anyone under the age of 20 can vote. The winning Australian book will receive the Gold Inky and a cash prize, and the International winner will receive the Silver Inky.

More information about the awards can be found online here.



Category: Local news