Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

2012 Ned Kelly Awards winners announced

The winners of this year’s Ned Kelly Awards for Australian Crime Writing were announced in Melbourne on 29 August.

Pig Boy by J C Burke (Woolshed Press) won the best fiction category and The Cartographer by Peter Twohig (Fourth Estate) won the best first fiction category.

Sins of the Father by Eamonn Duff (A&U) won the prize for true crime and the S D Harvey Short Story Award went to A J Clifford for ‘Summer of the Seventeenth Poll’.

To see the titles shortlisted for this year’s awards, click here.

Gabrielle Lord was also recognised at the awards, receiving the Ned Kelly Lifetime Achievement Award for her contribution to the culture and development of Australian crime writing throughout her career. Lord was written a number of books, including the ‘Conspiracy 365’ series (Scholastic), which won a number of awards last year, including Book of the Year for Older Readers in the 2011 Australian Book Industry Awards and the older readers fiction award in the 2011 Young Australian’s Best Book Awards. Lord’s new book, Death by Beauty, will be published by Hachette in September.  

The awards were presented at a special Melbourne Writers Festival event, hosted by Jane Clifton who also hosted the event last year. It featured music from The Ungrateful Dead and Lisa Miller, and a keynote address by Rochelle Jackson on ‘Unfurling True Crime: Gender, Splendour and the Ugly Truth’.

For more information about the awards, visit the awards website here.



Category: Local news