Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

2012 Davitt Awards winners announced

The winners of the 2012 Davitt Awards, presented by Sisters in Crime for crime books written by Australian women, have been announced.

The winning titles in each of the categories are:

Adult Fiction

  • A Decline in Prophets (Sulari Gentill, Pantera Press)


True Crime

  • Cold Case Files: Past Crimes Solved by New Forensic Science (Liz Porter, Macmillan)


Children’s and Young Adult Fiction

  • Surface Tension (Meg McKinlay, Walker Books)


Best Debut

  • Beyond Fear (Jaye Ford, Bantam)


Reader’s Choice Award (shared)

  • Beyond Fear (Jaye Ford, Bantam) and
  • The Brotherhood (Y A Erskine, Bantam).


Death and the Spanish Lady by Carolyn Morwood (Pulp Fiction Press) was highly commended in the Adult Fiction category and The Golden Day by Ursula Dubosarsky (A&U) was highly commended in the Children’s and Young Adult Fiction category.

To see the titles shortlisted for this year’s awards, click here.

The awards were presented at a gala dinner by Swedish crime writer Ǻsa Larsson, who spoke to Sue Turnbull at the dinner about her ‘life in crime’. Larsson told the attendees that she was so impressed by the event that she plans to establish a Sisters in Crime organisation in Sweden.

More information about the Davitt Awards can be found on the Sisters in Crime website here.



Category: Local news