Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Blake Poetry Prize 2012 shortlist announced

The shortlist for the 2012 Blake Poetry Prize has been announced.

The shortlisted poems are:

  • ‘Once Upon a Time in the Rockies’ (David Bunn)
  • ‘Celen’ (Christopher Kelen)
  • ‘Alter Rock’ (Graham Kershaw)
  • ‘Nine Crab Barn’ (David Musgrave)
  • ‘Horseback’ (Geoff Page)
  • ‘Redemption’ (Mick Ringiari)
  • ‘Breathing’ (Carmel Summers).


The winner of this year’s prize will be announced on 8 November at the opening of the Blake Prize Exhibition at the S H Ervin Gallery in Sydney.

The Blake Poetry Prize is worth $5000 and is one of the largest open prizes for a single poem in Australia. The annual prize is presented by the New South Wales Writers’ Centre and the Blake Society to works of 100 lines or less, that ‘engage in the dialogue between religion, spirituality and poetry’.

For more information about the prize or to read the shortlisted poems, visit the NSW Writers’ Centre website here.



Category: Local news