Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Bragg UNSW Press Prize for Science Writing shortlist announced

The shortlist for the inaugural Bragg UNSW Press Prize for Science Writing has been announced.

The shortlisted pieces of writing are:

  • ‘Storm front’ by Jo Chandler (Feeling the Heat, MUP)
  • ‘Gateway to heaven’ by Wilson da Silva (Cosmos)
  • ‘The Aussie mozzie posse’ by Ashley Hay (Good Weekend)
  • ‘The evolution of the inadequate modern male’ by Peter McAllister (Australasian Science)
  • ‘License to heal’ by Nick Miller (Sunday Age)
  • ‘The roach’s secret’ by Wendy Zukerman (New Scientist).


The winners of this year’s prize will be announced on 22 November. The overall winner will receive a cash prize of $7000 and two runners up will each receive a cash prize of $1500. The three winning pieces of work will be published in the forthcoming anthology The Best Australian Science Writing 2012 (ed by Elizabeth Finkel, November).

As previously reported by Bookseller+Publisher, NewSouth Publishing launched the prize earlier this year. The prize, which is named after Australia’s first Nobel Laureates William and Laurence Bragg, is open to short nonfiction pieces of science writing that have been written for a general audience. The prize is also supported by the Copyright Agency Cultural Fund.

For more information about the prize, visit the NewSouth Publishing website here.



Category: Local news