Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Oz, NZ authors nominated for 2013 Astrid Lindgren Award

Four Australian authors and two New Zealand authors have been nominated for the 2013 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award, the world’s largest prize for children’s and young adult literature.

Australian authors Ursula Dubosarsky, Jackie French, Morris Gleitzman and Melina Marchetta are among the 207 candidates for the 2013 award. French was nominated last year, and Gleitzman was nominated in 2010, 2011 and 2012.

New Zealand author Joy Cowley and author and illustrator Lynley Dodd have also been nominated for this year’s award, which carries with it a cash prize of five million krona (approximately A$727,000). Cowley has been nominated for the award in 2011 and 2012.

The winner of this year’s award will be announced on 26 March 2013 in Stockholm to coincide with the 2013 Bologna Children’s Book Fair.

Two Australian authors have previously won the award, which is designed to promote interest in children’s and young adult literature and to strengthen children’s rights around the world. Australian author and illustrator Shaun Tan won the award in 2011 and author Sonya Hartnett won the award in 2008.

A complete list of the nominees for the 2013 award is available online here.



Category: Local news