Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Kibble and Dobbie Awards longlists announced

The longlists for this year’s Kibble and Dobbie Literary Awards have been announced—the first time in the history of the awards that the judges have revealed the longlisted titles.

The longlisted titles for the $30,000 Kibble Literary Award, which recognises the work of an established Australian female writer, are:

  • Questions of Travel (Michelle de Kretser, A&U)
  • The Beloved (Annah Faulkner, Picador)
  • The Engagement (Chloe Hooper, Hamish Hamilton)
  • My Hundred Lovers (Susan Johnson, A&U)
  • Like a House on Fire (Cate Kennedy, Scribe)
  • The Mind of a Thief (Patti Miller, UQP)
  • An Opening: Twelve Love Stories about Art (Stephanie Radok, Wakefield Press)
  • Mateship with Birds (Carrie Tiffany, Picador).


The longlisted titles for the $5000 Dobbie Literary Award, which recognises the work of a first-time published Australian female writer, are:

  • Floundering (Romy Ash, Text)
  • Darkness on the Edge of Town (Jessie Cole, Fourth Estate)
  • The Burial (Courtney Collins, A&U)
  • Toyo: A Memoir (Lily Chan, Black Inc.)
  • Finding Jasper (Lynne Leonhardt, Margaret River Press)
  • Red Dirt Talking (Jacqueline Wright, Fremantle Press).


The shortlists for this year’s awards will be announced on 5 June, followed by the winners announcement on 24 July. 

Chair of the judging panel Brigid Rooney said in a statement that the judges decided to release the longlists as a way of drawing more attention to the awards, which have been presented for the past 20 years.

‘2013 is a particularly strong year for Australian women writers, so much so that we felt it important to recognise the full longlist for both awards and ensure the writers get the recognition they deserve,’ said Rooney.

The Kibble and Dobbie Literary Awards aim to encourage Australian women writers of both fiction and nonfiction. In 2012, the Kibble Literary Award was presented to Gail Jones for Five Bells (Vintage) and the Dobbie Literary Award was presented to Favel Parrett for Past the Shallows (Hachette).

For more information about the awards, click here.



Category: Local news