Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

NSW Premier’s Literary Awards shortlists announced

The shortlists for this year’s New South Wales Premier’s Literary Awards have been announced.

The shortlisted titles for the book-related categories are:

Christina Stead Prize for Fiction ($40,000) and nominees for the People’s Choice Award

  • The Voyage (Murray Bail, Text)
  • The Daughters of Mars (Thomas Keneally, Vintage)
  • Foal’s Bread (Gillian Mears, A&U)
  • Cold Light (Frank Moorhouse, Vintage)
  • Mateship with Birds (Carrie Tiffany, Picador)
  • Animal People (Charlotte Wood, A&U)


Douglas Stewart Prize for Nonfiction ($40,000)

  • Exile: The Lives and Hopes of Werner Pelz (Roger Averill, Transit Lounge)
  • Ben Jonson: A Life (Ian Donaldson, OUP)
  • Dark Night: Walking with McCahon (Martin Emond, AUP)
  • The Biggest Estate on Earth (Bill Gammage, A&U)
  • Double Entry (Jane Gleeson-White, A&U)
  • The Office: A Hard Working History (Gideon Haigh, MUP)


Kenneth Slessor Prize for Poetry ($30,000)

  • Ruby Moonlight (Ali Cobby-Eckermann, Magabala Books)
  • First Light (Kate Fagan, Giramondo)
  • Open Sesame (Michael Farrell, Giramondo)
  • The Welfare of My Enemy (Anthony Lawrence, Puncher & Wattman)
  • Ladylike (Kate Lilly, UWA Publishing)
  • Here, There and Elsewhere (Vivian Smith, Giramondo)


Ethel Turner Prize for Young People’s Literature ($30,000)

  • Three Summers (Judith Clarke, A&U)
  • The Ink Bridge (Neil Grant, A&U)
  • Sea Hearts (Margo Lanagan, A&U)
  • A Corner of White (Jaclyn Moriarty, Pan Macmillan)
  • Into that Forest (Louis Nowra, A&U)
  • Unforgotten (Tohby Riddle, A&U)


Patricia Wrightson Prize for Children’s Literature ($30,000)

  • The Ghost of Miss Annabel Spoon (Aaron Blabey, Viking)
  • Brotherband 1: The Outcasts (John Flanagan, Random House)
  • Pookie Aleera is Not My Boyfriend (Steven Herrick, UQP)
  • A Bear and a Tree (Stephen Michael King, Viking)
  • The Tender Moments of Saffron Silk: Kingdom of Silk Series 6 (Glenda Millard, illus by Stephen Michael King, HarperCollins)
  • Dragonkeeper Book 4: Blood Brothers (Carole Wilkinson, Walker Books)


Community Relations Commission Award ($20,000)

  • All Windows Open and Other Stories (Hariklia Heristandinidis, Clouds of Magellan)
  • Don’t Go Back to Where You Came From (Tim Soutphommasane, NewSouth)
  • Beneath the Darkening Sky (Majok Tulba, Hamish Hamilton)
  • Anguli Ma: A Gothic Take (Chi Vu, Giramondo)


UTS Glenda Adams Award for New Writing ($5000)

  • Eleven Seasons (Paul Carter, A&U)
  • The Burial (Courtney Collins, A&U)
  • Sufficient Grace (Amy Espeseth, Scribe)
  • Running Dogs (Ruby Murray, Scribe)
  • The Weight of a Human Heart (Ryan O’Neill, Black Inc.)
  • The Last Thread (Michael Sala, Affirm Press)


NSW Premier’s Translation Prize

  • Peter Boyle
  • Alison Entrekin
  • Brian Nelson
  • Ouyang Yu.


The winners of this year’s awards will be announced on 19 May as part of the Sydney Writers’ Festival. Voting for the People’s Choice Award will open on Friday 12 April and votes can be cast via the State Library of NSW website.

To see a list of last year’s winners, click here.



Category: Local news