Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

APA Book Design Awards winners announced

The winners of this year’s Australian Publishers Association (APA) Book Design Awards were announced in Sydney on 23 May during the Sydney Writers’ Festival (SWF).

The winning titles in each of the categories are:

Best Designed Book of the Year

  • Things I Love (Megan Morton, Lantern), designed by Evi Oetomo


Best Designed Cover of the Year

  • The Voyage (Murray Bail, Text), designed by W H Chong


Best Designed Children’s Cover of the Year

  • The Dreadful Fluff (Aaron Blabey, Viking), designed by Elissa Webb and Aaron Blabey


Best Designed Fiction Book

  • The Secret Keeper (Kate Morton, A&U), designed by Lisa White


Best Designed Nonfiction Book

  • The Office (Gideon Haigh, Miegunyah), designed by Hamish Freeman


Best Designed Literary Fiction (tied)

  • The Voyage (Murray Bail, Text), designed by W H Chong
  • Sufficient Grace (Amy Espeseth, Scribe), designed by Allison Colpoys and Miriam Rosenbloom


Best Designed General Illustrated Book

  • Things I Love (Megan Morton, Lantern), designed by Evi Oetomo


Best Designed Specialist Illustrated Book

  • The Essential Leunig: Cartoons from a Winding Path (Michael Leunig, Viking), designed by Adam Laszcuk and Michael Leunig


Best Designed Cookbook

  • Mr Wilkinson’s Favourite Vegetables (Matt Wilkinson, Murdoch), designed by Studio Racket


Best Designed Children’s Fiction Book

  • The Children of the King (Sonya Hartnett, Viking), designed by Marina Messiha


Best Designed Children’s Nonfiction Book

  • Sophie Scott Goes South (Alison Lester, Viking), designed by Tony Palmer


Best Designed Children’s Picture Book

  • The Gobbledygook is Eating a Book (Justine Clarke & Arthur Baysting, illus by Tom Jellett, Viking), designed by Kirby Armstrong and Tom Jellett


Best Designed Children’s Series

  • Australian Children’s Classics (Penguin), designed by Allison Colpoys


Best Designed Young Adult Book

  • The Diviners (Libba Bray, A&U), designed by Kirby Armstrong


Best Designed Reference and Scholarly Book

  • Dressing Sydney: The Jewish Fashion Story (Mark Gowing Design), designed by Mark Gowing


Best Designed Primary Education Book

  • Jolly Roger and the Clever Green Parrot (Debbie Croft, Cengage Learning), designed by James Lowe and Karen Mayo


Best Designed Secondary Education Book

  • Poetry Remastered: A Practical Guide for Senior Students (Blair Mahoney, Cambridge University Press), designed by Lanz+Martin


Best Designed Higher Education and Tertiary Book

  • Electrical Principles (Peter Phillips, Cengage Learning), designed by Danielle Maccarone.



Penguin designer Evi Oetomo was named Young Designer of the Year and in the tradition of the Book Design Awards, Oetomo designed the gift bags for guests at the ceremony, as well as the awards catalogue. Oetomo, who took home the awards for Best Designed Book of the Year and Best Designed General Illustrated Book of the Year for Things I Love (Megan Morton, Lantern), was also recognised for her work on David Herbert’s Best-Ever Baking Recipes (David Herbert, Lantern), My Greek Island Home (Claire Lloyd, Lantern) and Simon Bryant’s Vegies (Simon Bryant, Lantern). 

Text Publishing designer W H Chong was awarded the Joyce Thorpe Nicholson Hall of Fame award, joining seven other designers in the Hall of Fame. 

To see some covers of the winning books, visit our Fancy Goods blog here. To see some photos from the event, click here.



Category: Local news