Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Ernest Scott Prize 2013 shortlist announced

The shortlist for the 2013 Ernest Scott Prize for history, presented by the University of Melbourne’s Faculty of Arts, has been announced.

The shortlisted titles are:

  • Webs of Empire: Locating New Zealand’s Colonial Past (Tony Ballantyne, Bridget Williams Books)
  • Larrikins: A History (Melissa Bellanta, UQP)
  • University Unlimited: The Monash Story (Graeme Davison & Kate Murphy, A&U)
  • The Lone Protestor: A M Fernando in Australia and Europe (Fiona Paisley, Aboriginal Studies Press)
  • Tasmanian Aborigines: A History Since 1803 (Lyndall Ryan, A&U).


The winner of this year’s prize will be announced on 11 July at the Australian Historical Association’s annual conference.

The Ernest Scott Prize is worth $12,000 and is awarded annually to a work based on original research that contributes to the history of Australia or New Zealand or to the history of colonisation. In 2012, the prize was awarded to Damon Ieremia Salesa for Racial Crossings: Race, Intermarriage and Victorian British Empire (OUP).

For more information about the Ernest Scott Prize, visit the University of Melbourne website here.



Category: Local news