Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

PM’s Literary Awards 2013 shortlists announced

The shortlists for this year’s Prime Minister’s Literary Awards have been announced.

The shortlisted titles in each of the categories are:


  • Floundering (Romy Ash, Text)
  • The Chemistry of Tears (Peter Carey, Hamish Hamilton)
  • Questions of Travel (Michelle de Kretser, A&U)
  • Lost Voices (Christopher Koch, Fourth Estate)
  • Mateship with Birds (Carrie Tiffany, Picador)



  • Burning Rice (Eileen Chong, Australian Poetry Ltd)
  • The Sunlit Zone (Lisa Jacobson, Five Islands Press)
  • Jam Tree Gully: Poems (John Kinsella, W W Norton)
  • Liquid Nitrogen (Jennifer Maiden, Giramondo)
  • Crimson Crop (Peter Rose, UWA Publishing)



  • Bradman’s War (Malcolm Knox, Viking)
  • Uncommon Soldier (Chris Masters, A&U )
  • Plein Airs and Graces (Adrian Mitchell, Wakefield Press)
  • The Australian Moment (George Megalogenis, Viking)
  • Bold Palates (Barbara Santich, Wakefield Press)


Prize for Australian History

  • The Sex Lives of Australians: A History (Frank Bongiorno, Black Inc.)
  • Sandakan (Paul Ham, William Heinemann)
  • Gough Whitlam (Jenny Hocking, MUP)
  • Farewell, Dear People (Ross McMullin, Scribe)
  • The Censor’s Library (Nicole Moore, UQP)


Young adult fiction

  • Everything Left Unsaid (Jessica Davidson, Pan)
  • The Children of the King (Sonya Hartnett, Viking)
  • Grace Beside Me (Sue McPherson, Magabala)
  • Fog a Dox (Bruce Pascoe, Magabala)
  • Friday Brown (Vikki Wakefield, Text)


Children’s fiction

  • Red (Libby Gleeson, A&U)
  • Today We Have No Plans (Jane Godwin, illus by Anna Walker, Viking)
  • What’s the Matter, Aunty May? (Peter Friend, illus by Andrew Joyner, Little Hare)
  • The Beginner’s Guide to Revenge (Marianne Musgrove, Woolshed Press).


The winners in each of the categories will receive a tax-free cash prize of $80,000, with the shortlisted authors receiving $5000 tax-free. The date of the winners announcement is yet to be announced. 

The Prime Minister’s Literary Awards recognise the best in Australian fiction, poetry, nonfiction, history, young adult and children’s fiction published in 2012. For more information about the awards, click here.



Category: Local news