Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:  

Inaugural Queensland Writers Fellowships announced

Angela Slatter, Kristina Olsson and Patrick Holland have been announced as the winners of the inaugural Queensland Writers Fellowships.

The three authors, who were chosen from a field of 48 entrants, will each receive $15,000 to develop a new work.

Holland will write a novel about the final days of bushranger James Kenniff, which ‘will reveal little known facts about the mythological figure, including landmarks to his name throughout Queensland’; Olsson will work on a narrative nonfiction piece that traces ‘a vacant block of land in Brisbane through modern times to European settlement, Indigenous occupation, and back to the glaciers’; and Slatter will work on a mosaic novel entitled The Tallow-Wife and Other Tales, which ‘uses fairytale elements as touchstones for original tales that experiment with discontinuous narrative’. 

The Queensland Writers Fellowships are administered by the Queensland Literary Awards (QLA) in partnership with the Queensland Government. As previously reported by Books+Publishing, the fellowships, which are open to published Queensland writers, were established in March 2013 following the Queensland government’s widely unpopular decision to scrap the Queensland Premier’s Literary Awards in 2012.

Stuart Glover, chairman of the Queensland Literary Awards, said the fellowships ‘brought a new developmental focus to QLA Inc’s annual program, ensuring support for Queensland writers and new writing’.

Shortlists for this year’s Queensland Literary Awards will be announced on 19 August and the winners will be announced on 4 September during the Brisbane Writers Festival. For more information about the awards and fellowships, visit the Queensland Literary Awards website here.



Category: Local news