Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Waverley Library Award 2013 longlist announced

The longlist for the 2013 Waverley Library Award for Literature, known as ‘the Nib’, has been announced.

The longlisted titles are:

  • Governor Bligh and the Short Man (Peter Cochrane, Penguin)
  • Three Crooked Kings (Matthew Condon, UQP)
  • The Water Doctor’s Daughters (Pauline Conolly, Robert Hale Limited)
  • Canberra (Paul Daley, NewSouth)
  • Antarctica: A Biography (David Day, Random House)
  • Montebello (Robert Drewe, Hamish Hamilton)
  • Rendezvous with Destiny (Michael Fullilove, Viking)
  • On Warne (Gideon Haigh, Hamish Hamilton)
  • The Price of Valour (John Hamilton, Pan)
  • Gurrumul (Robert Hillman, ABC Books)
  • Gough Whitlam: His Time (Jenny Hocking, Miegunyah)
  • Burial Rites (Hannah Kent, Picador)
  • David Jones: 175 Years (Helen O’Neill, NewSouth)
  • Belomor (Nicolas Rothwell, Text)
  • Madeleine: A Life of Madeleine St John (Helen Trinca, Text).


A shortlist for this year’s award will be announced in coming months, ahead of the winners’ announcement in November. The winner will receive a cash prize of $20,000, while the authors of the shortlisted books will each receive the Alex Buzo Shortlist Prize of $1000.

The Waverley Library Award was established in 2002 to recognise the role of research in fiction and nonfiction. This year, fiction and nonfiction books published between 1 July 2012 and 30 June 2013 were eligible for the award. Last year’s award was presented to Jane Gleeson-White for her book Double Entry (A&U).

For more information about the award, visit the Waverley Library website here.



Category: Local news