Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Peter Blazey, Wesley Michel Wright, Ernest Scott prizes announced

The University of Melbourne’s Australian Centre, School of Culture and Communication and Faculty of Arts announced the winners of the Peter Blazey Fellowship, the Wesley Michel Wright Prize and the Ernest Scott Prize at the Melbourne Writers Festival on 25 August.

The annual Peter Blazey Fellowship was jointly awarded to Mark Mordue for Tender Prey: The Life and Work of Nick Cave (Orion) and Michael Farrell for The Case of John Ah Sing (unpublished). Commendation was also given to Elmo Keep for The Two Fathers (Scribe).

The fellowship is awarded to further a work-in-progress in biography, autobiography or life-writing, and is named in the memory of journalist, author and gay activist Peter Blazey (1939-1997). The winner receives $15,000 and a one-month residency at the Australian Centre. For more information on the fellowship visit the website here

The annual Wesley Michel Wright Prize for poetry, worth $3500, was awarded to Judy Johnson for her collection of poems ‘Irish Stone’ from the book Stone Scar Air Water (Walleah Press). More information on the prize is available on the website here.

As previously reported by Books+Publishing, the Ernest Scott prize for history, worth $12,000, was awarded to Melissa Bellanta for Larrikins: A History (UQP).



Category: Local news