Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

NSW Premier’s History Awards 2013 winners announced

The winners of this year’s New South Wales Premier’s History Awards have been announced.

The winners in the book-related categories are:

Australian History Prize ($15,000)

  • Kitty’s War: The Remarkable Wartime Experiences of Kit McNaughton (Janet Butler, UQP)


General History Prize ($15,000)

  • Assimilation and Empire: Uniformity in the French and British Colonies, 1541-1954 (Saliha Belmessous, OUP)


NSW Community & Regional History Prize ($15,000)

  • The Mind of a Thief (Patti Miller, UQP)


Young People’s History Prize ($15,000)

  • Pennies for Hitler (Jackie French, HarperCollins).


The awards were presented on 12 September at the State Library of NSW, along with the Multimedia History Prize, which went to First Foot Prints: Super Nomads, Episode 1 by Martin Butler and Bentley Dean (Contact Films). The winners were selected from 161 entries, with books published between 1 April 2012 and 31 March 2013 eligible for the awards. To see the titles shortlisted for the awards, click here.

In 2012, the NSW Premier’s History Awards were presented in conjunction with the NSW Premier’s Literary Awards. To see last year’s winners, click here. For more information about the awards, visit the State Library of NSW website here.



Category: Local news