Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

WA Premier’s Book Awards 2012 winners announced

The winners of this year’s Western Australian Premier’s Book Awards were announced by Minister for the Arts John Day on 16 September. 

Michelle de Kretser was presented with the $25,000 Premier’s Prize, which is awarded to the most outstanding book from the category winners, for Questions of Travel (A&U). De Kretser’s book also won the $15,000 Fiction Prize.

The winners in each of the categories are:

Nonfiction ($15,000)

  • Exile: The Lives and Hopes of Werner Pelz (Roger Averill, Transit Lounge)


Fiction ($15,000)

  • Questions of Travel (Michelle de Kretser, A&U)


Children’s ($15,000)

  • Pookie Aleera is Not My Boyfriend (Steven Herrick, UQP)
  • Australian Backyard Naturalist (Peter Macinnis, NLA)


Poetry ($10,000)

  •  Cumulus (Robert Gray, John Leonard Press)


Young Adult ($10,000)

  • Sea Hearts (Margo Lanagan, A&U)


State Library of Western Australia WA History Award ($10,000)

  •  Kurlumarniny: We Come from the Desert (Monty Hale (Minyjun), Aboriginal Studies Press)


Scripts ($10,000)

  •  The Fremantle Candidate (Ingle Knight, Prickly Pear Playscripts)


Digital Narrative ($5000)

  •  My Planets: Reunion Memoir (David P Reiter, Interactive Publications)


People’s Choice ($5000)

  • The Meaning of Grace (Deborah Forster, Vintage).


To see the titles shortlisted for this year’s awards, click here. To see a list of last year’s winners, click here. For more information about the WA Premier’s Book Awards, visit the State Library of Western Australia website here.



Category: Local news