Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Human Rights Literature Award 2013 shortlist announced

The shortlist for this year’s Human Rights Literature Award has been announced.

The shortlisted titles are:

  • The Flash of Recognition: Photography and the Emergence of Indigenous Rights (Jane Lydon, NewSouth)
  • Dying for a Chat: The Communication Breakdown between Doctors and Patients (Ranjana Srivastava, Penguin)
  • The Misogyny Factor (Anne Summers, NewSouth)
  • Boy, Lost: A Family Memoir (Kristina Olsson, UQP).


The winner of this year’s award will be announced at a ceremony in Sydney on 10 December.

The Human Rights Literature Award for nonfiction books is presented annually by the Australian Human Rights Commission as part of the Human Rights Awards. In 2012, the award was presented to Robin de Crespigny for The People Smuggler (Viking).

The Human Rights Awards recognise contributions to Australian society by community members committed to issues of human rights, social justice and equality. In addition to the literature category, awards are presented in the categories of law, community, print media, television and radio. For more information, click here.



Category: Local news