Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature 2014 shortlists announced

The shortlists for the 2014 Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature have been announced.

The shortlisted titles in each of the categories are:

Fiction ($15,000)

  • A World of Other People (Steven Carroll, Fourth Estate)
  • Street to Street (Brian Castro, Giramondo)
  • Questions of Travel (Michelle de Kretser, A&U)
  • Sufficient Grace (Amy Espeseth, Scribe)
  • Foal’s Bread (Gillian Mears, A&U)
  • Cold Light (Frank Moorhouse, Vintage)


Nonfiction ($15,000)

  • Exit Wounds: One Australian’s War on Terror (John Cantwell & Greg Bearup, MUP)
  • On Warne (Gideon Haigh, Penguin)
  • Night Games: Sex, Power and Sport (Anna Krien, Black Inc.)
  • The Australian Moment: How We Were Made for These Times (George Megalogenis, Viking)
  • Madness: A Memoir (Kate Richards, Viking)
  • The Many Worlds of RH Mathews: In Search of an Australian Anthropologist (Martin Thomas, A&U)


Children’s literature ($15,000)

  • What the Raven Saw (Samantha-Ellen Bound, Woolshed Press)
  • Herman and Rosie (Gus Gordon, Viking)
  • Pookie Aleera is Not My Boyfriend (Steven Herrick, UQP)
  • A Very Unusual Pursuit (Catherine Jinks, A&U)
  • My Life as an Alphabet (Barry Jonsberg, A&U)
  • Lightning Jack (Glenda Millard, Scholastic)


Young adult fiction ($15,000)

  • Alex as Well (Alyssa Brugman, Text)
  • The Ink Bridge (Neil Grant, A&U)
  • Sea Hearts (Margo Lanagan, A&U)
  • Into That Forest (Louis Nowra, A&U)
  • Friday Brown (Vicki Wakefield, Text)
  • The Wrong Boy (Suzy Zail, Black Dog Books)


John Bray Poetry Award ($15,000)

  • Clear Brightness (Kim Cheng Boey, Puncher & Wattman)
  • Ruby Moonlight (Ali Cobby Eckermann, Magabala)
  • Asymmetry (Aidan Coleman, Brandl & Schlesinger)
  • The Sunlit Zone (Lisa Jacobson, Five Islands Press)
  • Jam Tree Gully (John Kinsella, W W Norton)


Wakefield Press Unpublished Manuscript Award

  • Black Dog (Simon Butters)
  • Here Where We Live (Cassie Flanagan-Willanski)
  • Roundabout (Jill Jones)
  • Love at the Endings (Carol Lefevre).


The winners of this year’s awards will be announced on 1 March during the 2014 Adelaide Writers’ Week, along with the winners of a number of fellowships, including a new fellowship for South Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander writers, worth $15,000. One of the category winners will also be awarded the overall Premier’s Award, worth $25,000.

The Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature are presented biennially by the South Australian Government. Books by Australian authors that were published between November 2011 and the end of June 2013 were eligible for the 2014 awards. As previously reported by Books+Publishing, Premier Jay Weatherill announced in 2012 that the prize money for the 2014 Premier’s Award would increase from $10,000 to $25,000.  

The 2014 Adelaide Writers’ Week will be held from Saturday 1 March to Thursday 6 March. For information about the festival program, click here.



Category: Local news