Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

2014 Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards winners announced; ‘Liquid Nitrogen’ wins Victorian Prize for Literature

Liquid Nitrogen by Jennifer Maiden (Giramondo) has won the 2014 Victorian Prize for Literature, worth $100,000.

Giramondo publisher Ivor Indyk accepted the award on Maiden’s behalf from Victorian Premier Denis Napthine at the Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards on 28 January. ‘I can’t underline enough what this prize means to Jennifer and to Australian poetry,’ said Indyk. Liquid Nitrogen also won the award for poetry, worth $25,000.

The winning titles in each category are:


  • Coal Creek (Alex Miller, A&U)



  • Forgotten War (Henry Reynolds, NewSouth)



  • Liquid Nitrogen (Jennifer Maiden, Giramondo)


Young adult

  • My Life as an Alphabet (Barry Jonsberg, A&U)



  • Savages (Patricia Cornelius)


People’s choice award

  • Burial Rites (Hannah Kent, Picador).


As previously reported by Books+Publishing, the winners announcement moved from September/October to January to ‘give the awards program a greater profile and to increase the period of eligibility for entrants’. Books first published between 1 June 2012 and 31 December 2013 were eligible for entry in the 2014 awards.

The 2013 Victorian Premier’s Literary Award for an unpublished manuscript was awarded to Foreign Soil by Maxine Beneba Clarke during the Emerging Writers’ Festival in May. It will be published by Hachette in May.

The biennial Victorian Premier’s Literary Award for Indigenous Writing was not presented in 2013.

To see all the titles shortlisted for this year’s Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards, click here. For more information about the awards, visit the Wheeler Centre website



Category: Local news