Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Indie Awards 2014 shortlists announced

The shortlists for the 2014 Indie Awards, presented by Leading Edge Books, have been announced.

The shortlisted titles in each category are:


  • Barracuda (Christos Tsiolkas, A&U)
  • Coal Creek (Alex Miller, A&U)
  • Eyrie (Tim Winton, Hamish Hamilton)
  • The Narrow Road to the Deep North (Richard Flanagan, Vintage)



  • Girt (David Hunt, Black Inc.)
  • Murder in Mississippi (John Safran, Hamish Hamilton)
  • The Stalking of Julia Gillard (Kerry-Anne Walsh, A&U)
  • The Good Life (Hugh Mackay, Macmillan)


Debut fiction

  • Burial Rites (Hannah Kent, Picador)
  • Mr Wigg (Inga Simpson, Hachette)
  • The Rosie Project (Graeme Simsion, Text)
  • The Night Guest (Fiona McFarlane, Hamish Hamilton)



  • Alphabetical Sydney (Hilary Bell & Antonia Pesenti, NewSouth)
  • Kissed by the Moon (Alison Lester, Viking)
  • The 39-Storey Treehouse (Andy Griffiths, illus by Terry Denton, Pan)
  • Weirdo (Anh Do, Scholastic).


The 16 shortlisted titles were nominated by Leading Edge Books members from around the country. The winning books will be selected by ‘panels of expert judges’ made up of independent booksellers and readers, with independent booksellers to then vote for their overall favourite. The winners in each category, as well as the overall ‘Book of the Year’, will be announced in Sydney on 26 March.

The Indie Awards have been presented annually since 2008. Previous winners of the Book of the Year Award include The Light between Oceans by M L Stedman (Vintage) in 2013; All That I Am by Anna Funder (Penguin) in 2012; and The Happiest Refugee by Anh Do (A&U) in 2011.



Category: Local news