Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

ALS Gold Medal 2014 shortlist announced

The shortlist for the 2014 Australian Literature Society (ALS) Gold Medal has been announced.

The shortlisted titles are:

  • What Was Left (Eleanor Limprecht, Sleepers)
  • An Elegant Young Man (Luke Carman, Giramondo)
  • Burial Rites (Hannah Kent, Picador)
  • Barracuda (Christos Tsiolkas, A&U)
  • Coal Creek (Alex Miller, A&U)
  • The Swan Book (Alexis Wright, Giramondo).


The winner of this year’s award will be announced at the Association for the Study of Australian Literature (ASAL) annual conference at the University of Sydney in July.

The ALS Gold Medal is presented annually by ASAL for ‘a work of outstanding literary merit’ published in the previous calendar year. As previously reported by Books+Publishing, Michelle de Kretser won the 2013 ALS Gold Medal for Questions of Travel (A&U).

For more information about the ALS Gold Medal, visit the ASAL website here.



Category: Local news