Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature 2014 winners announced

Frank Moorhouse has won the overall Premier’s Award, worth $25,000, in the 2014 Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature for the third book in his ‘Edith’ trilogy, Cold Light (Vintage).

The winners of the biennial awards were announced on Saturday 1 March, marking the beginning of this year’s Adelaide Writers’ Week. Moorhouse’s novel also won the fiction category, worth $15,000. The first book in the ‘Edith’ trilogy, Grand Days (Vintage), won the fiction category at the Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature in 1994.

The winners in each of the other categories are:

Nonfiction ($15,000)

  • Madness: A Memoir (Kate Richards, Penguin)


Children’s literature ($15,000)

  • A Very Unusual Pursuit (Catherine Jinks, A&U)


Young adult fiction ($15,000)

  • Friday Brown (Vikki Wakefield, Text)


John Bray Poetry Award ($15,000)

  • The Sunlit Zone (Lisa Jacobson, Five Islands Press).


The winners of a number of awards and fellowships for South Australian writers were also announced. They are:

Wakefield Press Unpublished Manuscript Award ($10,000)

  • Here Where We Live (Cassie Flanagan-Willanski)


Jill Blewett Playwright’s Award ($12,500)

  • Replay (Phillip Kavanagh)


Barbara Hanrahan Fellowship ($15,000)

  • Common Monsters (Jennifer Mills)


Max Fatchen Fellowship ($15,000)

  • Falling (Helen Dinmoe, writing as Catherine Norton)


Tangkanungku Pintyanthi Fellowship for South Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander writers ($15,000)

  • Hopes Crossing (Ali Cobby Eckermann).


The Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature are presented biennially by the South Australian Government. Books by Australian authors that were published between November 2011 and June 2013 were eligible for the 2014 awards. To see the books shortlisted for this year’s awards, click here.

The 2014 Adelaide Writers’ Week will run until Thursday 6 March. For information about the festival program, visit the festival website here.



Category: Local news