Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

ACT Book of the Year Award 2013 shortlist announced

The shortlist for the 2013 Australian Capital Territory Book of the Year Award has been announced.

The shortlisted titles are:

  • Canberra (Paul Daley, NewSouth)
  • Island Earth: New and Selected Poems (S K Kelen, Brandl & Schlesinger)
  • I’m Ready Now (Nigel Featherstone, Blemish Books)
  • The Sex Lives of Australians: A History (Frank Bongiorno, Black Inc.).


The winner of the $10,000 award will be announced later this month.

The ACT Book of the Year Award has been presented by the ACT Government since 1993 for ‘quality contemporary published literary works by ACT writers’. Previous winners of the award include Bill Gammage for The Biggest Estate on Earth: How Aborigines Made Australia (A&U) in 2012, Chris Hammer for The River (MUP) in 2011 and Marion Halligan for Valley of Grace (A&U) in 2010.

For more information about the award, visit the Arts ACT website here.



Category: Local news