Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Ashurst Business Literature Prize 2013 shortlist announced

The shortlist for this year’s Ashurst Business Literature Prize has been announced.

The shortlisted titles are:

  • The Shark’s Paintbrush: Biomimicry and How Nature Is Inspiring Innovation (Jay Harman, Nicholas Brealey)
  • Boom: The Underground History of Australia, from Gold Rush to GFC (Malcolm Knox, Viking)
  • Fairfax: The Rise and Fall (Colleen Ryan, Miegunyah Press)
  • Killing Fairfax: Packer, Murdoch and the Ultimate Revenge (Pamela Williams, HarperCollins).


The winner of the $30,000 prize will be announced on 8 May.

The Ashurst Business Literature Prize was established in 2004 by the State Library of New South Wales and law firm Blake Dawson. The prize was previously called the Blake Dawson Business Literature Prize, but was renamed in 2012 as a result of the rebranding and amalgamation of Blake Dawson with Ashurst law firm.

As previously reported by Books+Publishing, books by Australian authors about international business and financial affairs were eligible for the award for the first time this year. The award had previously been presented for literary commentary on Australian business and financial affairs. Previous winners include The Sweet Spot: How Australia Made Its Own Luck by Peter Hartcher (Black Inc.) in 2013; Six Months of Panic: How the Global Financial Crisis Hit Australia by Trevor Sykes (A&U) in 2012; and Who Wants to Be a Billionarie? The James Packer Story by Paul Barry (A&U) in 2011.

For more information about the prize, visit the State Library of NSW website here.



Category: Local news