Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Aurealis Award winners announced

The 2013 Aurealis Award winners were announced at a ceremony in Canberra on Saturday 5 April.

The winning titles were:

Science-fiction novel

  • Lexicon (Max Barry, Hachette)


Fantasy novel

  • A Crucible of Souls (Mitchell Hogan, self-published)


Horror novel

  • Fairytales for Wilde Girls (Allyse Near, Random House)


Young adult novel (tied)

  • These Broken Stars (Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner, A&U)
  • Fairytales for Wilde Girls (Allyse Near, Random House)


Anthology (tied)

  • The Year’s Best Australian Fantasy and Horror 2012 (ed by Liz Grzyb & Talie Helene, Ticonderoga Publications)
  • One Small Step, An Anthology of Discoveries (ed by Tehani Wessel, FableCroft Publishing) (ed by Tehani Wessel, FableCroft Publishing)



  • The Bone Chime Song and Other Stories (Joanne Anderton, FableCroft Publishing)


Children’s book

  • The Four Seasons of Lucy McKenzie (Kirsty Murray, A&U)


Illustrated book or graphic novel (tied)

  • Burger Force (Jackie Ryan, self-published)
  • The Deep Vol 2: The Vanishing Island (Tom Taylor & James Brouwer, Gestalt Publishing)


Fantasy short fiction

  • ‘The Last Stormdancer’ (Jay Kristoff, Thomas Dunne Books)


Science-fiction short fiction

  • ‘Air, Water and the Grove’ (Kaaron Warren, The Lowest Heaven, Pandemonium Press)


Horror short fiction

  • ‘The Year of Ancient Ghosts’ (Kim Wilkins, The Year of Ancient Ghosts, Ticonderoga Publications)


Young adult short fiction

  • ‘By Bone-light’ (Juliet Marillier, Prickle Moon, Ticonderoga Publications).


The full list of finalists is available here.



Category: Local news