Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Shortlist for 2014 Vic Prem’s unpublished manuscript award announced

The shortlist for the Victorian Premier’s Literary Award for an Unpublished Manuscript has been announced.

The shortlisted titles are:

  • Fever of Animals (Miles Allinson)
  • Our Magic Hour (Jennifer Down)
  • Good Money (J M Green).


The judges also highlighted these commended entries:

  • Watershed (Jane Abbott)
  • Headland (Caitlin Crowley)
  • Winter Traffic (Genevieve Poetka)
  • Some Thoughts on Music and Freedom (Zoe Morrison)
  • Man of Clay (Victoria Osborne)
  • The Current (Yannick Thoraval).


The judges said in their report that the quality of the 113 entries for this year’s award ‘was outstanding overall’.

‘The final judges’ meeting involved much discussion,’ said the report. ‘The shortlist and the commended titles were all strong contenders for the prize, and these nine manuscripts stood out convincingly from the rest of the judges’ longlist.’

‘The judges also wrestled with whether the prize should be awarded to a polished and complete manuscript or to a manuscript that shows the most potential for development. The decision was finally unanimous and based on the confident and assured prose of the shortlisted works, and the clarity and creativity of the writers’ visions.’

The Victorian Premier’s Literary Award for an Unpublished Manuscript is worth $15,000 and is for an unpublished fiction manuscript which may be a collection of stories or a novel.

The winner will be announced at the Emerging Writers’ Festival opening night on Tuesday 27 May.

Read more about the shortlisted works on the Wheeler Centre website here.



Category: Local news